MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to add LLQ to Particular list of HLQ Dataset using REXX

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrgthiru
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Topics: 2
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:54 am    Post subject: How to add LLQ to Particular list of HLQ Dataset using REXX Reply with quote

Hi all,

Iam working on new rexx program,I should write a program in such a way which will ask for a suffix from the user as input and will change the dataset name... as the result of execution.

For example ...

If we want to view the list of dataset for a particular HLQ we will enter the HLQ.** in Dsname Level. Like this....
Code:

 Option ===>               
                                                                         

    blank Display data set list               P Print data set list     
        V Display VTOC information           PV Print VTOC information   
                                                                         

 Enter one or both of the parameters below:                               

    Dsname Level . . . TRABC1.*                                           
    Volume serial  . .                                                   

                                                                       

 Data set list options                                                   
    Initial View . . . 1  1. Volume       Enter "/" to select option     
                          2. Space        /  Confirm Data Set Delete     
                          3. Attrib       /  Confirm Member Delete       
                          4. Total        /  Include Additional Qualifiers
                                          /  Display Catalog Name         



when we press enter it will display the list of dataset... like this

Code:

*************************************************************
DSLIST - Data Sets Matching TRABC1.* Row 18 of 38
Command ===> Scroll ===> PAGE

Command - Enter "/" to select action Message Volume
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TRABC1.LOCAL.SEQ         T5abc
TRABC1.LOCAL.SEQOUT      T4abc
TRABC1.REPORT            T4ABC
TRABC1.REXX.ASSIGN       T4ABC
TRABC1.REXX.EXEC         T4ABC
***********************************************************


Consider that i have added my rexx exec - rename(member) in sysproc & sysexec
Now in command line if i enter TSO RENAME
it should prompt for suffix and if the user gives the input suffix as old
like...

Enter the suffix for rename.....
If the user enter old as suffix then
the dataset should get changed to or renamed to
Code:

*************************************************************
TRABC1.LOCAL.SEQ.OLD       T5ABC
TRABC1.LOCAL.SEQOUT.OLD    T4ABC
TRABC1.REPORT.OLD          T4ABC
TRABC1.REXX.ASSIGN.OLD     T4ABC
TRABC1.REXX.EXEC.OLD       T4ABC
***********************************************************
I need a solution for this... Im working on it... but still can any one help me Sad ... Thanks in advance...

Thanks & Regards
Gthiru
_________________
My blood says B+ Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bill Dennis
Advanced


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 579
Topics: 1
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I modified this example from the manual "DFSMS AMS for ICF Catalogs" into something you can do without needing to use a list from 3.4. You could have a REXX to receive the HLQ and LLQ and issue the ALTER in the REXX.

Code:

//ALTER2   JOB   ...               
//STEP1    EXEC  PGM=IDCAMS         
//SYSPRINT DD    SYSOUT=A           
//SYSIN    DD    *                 
     ALTER -                       
           hlq.* -       
           NEWNAME(hlq.*.newllq) 
/*                                 

_________________
Regards,
Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgthiru
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Topics: 2
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bill,

Thank you!.. but still iam not able to apply the same concept using REXX. It would be better if i get some clues to do this program in REXX.

Thanks & Regards
Gthiru Wink
_________________
My blood says B+ Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RENAME is a line command when used with a list, when entered in the command line it is expects the old and new dsn in the proper syntax for the TSO command RENAME.

don't understand your problem. If you want to provide an alternative to the ISPF 3.4 screen, suggest you use something other than the command line as input for your promts.

from your rexx, invoke TSO RENAME.

I don't see a need for your rexx, since 3.4 does this already.
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bill Dennis
Advanced


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 579
Topics: 1
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you worked with a REXX to accept input parameter values? Issue the command "ALTER" in the REXX, just like the batch syntax, substituting your variables for HLQ and LLQ.
_________________
Regards,
Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ofer71
Intermediate


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 358
Topics: 4
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A hint for REXX: When you invoke a REXX exec as a line command from DSLIST (aka 3.4), put ARG dataset_name as your first instruction. The dataset name will be passed as a parameter.

O.
________
Acura Vigor history
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group