MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

EZT - BEFORE-LINE

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Brian
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 95
Topics: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:25 am    Post subject: EZT - BEFORE-LINE Reply with quote

Board,

I have been trying this out for sometime now. I want my ezt program to display / write some values to another file just before printing it to a report. This program is pretty complex and i dont want to disturb the otherwise peaceful execution of this program. I just introduced a BEFORE-LINE proc after the last LINE statement of the report with a S type variable and expect it to display the contents. But i dont see any output.

Code:

REPORT -----------
LINE A B C

BEFORE-LINE. PROC
DEFINE S-A S 4 A
DEFINE S-B  S 10 N
S-A = A
S-B = B
IF B > 40,00000
    DISPLAY A
END-IF
END-PROC


any clues ?

cheers
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12377
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

brian,

Did you check the report file ? The display statement will be in the report file.

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Brian
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 95
Topics: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,

Thanks for your reply. Am looking into the report file only. I do not see any trace of the records.

Are there are REPORT options that inhibit the execution of BEFORE-LINE proc ? My report options are SUMMARY SUMCTL DTLCPY.

cheers
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12377
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brian,

Remove the comma in the IF clause and see if it works.

Code:


IF B > 4000000
    DISPLAY 'DISPLAY THE CONTENTS OF A:'
END-IF



Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Brian
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 95
Topics: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,

Just got the hint. The control was creating the problem. I replaced the BEFORE-LINE with a BEFORE-BREAK and the results were as beautiful as the Taj Mahal.

cheers
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian
Beginner


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 95
Topics: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ravi,

My report options are coded in such a way to inhibit(or say supress displays) the execution of BEFORE-LINE.

On deeper investigation i found that in my case a BEFORE-LINE and a BEFORE-BREAK perform the same operation and when i replaced the BEFORE-LINE with a BEFORE-BREAK i got the results that i expected.

cheers
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group