View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
abhisun Beginner
Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Posts: 21 Topics: 9
|
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 6:20 am Post subject: Submitting a JCL thru a JCL |
|
|
Hi,
Is there any possibility of submitting a job thru a running job. I need a JCL which I will submit manually using 'sub' command & then that JCL will trigger another JCL/job with a different job name so that both jobs will run parallely.
This is required to save time doing things parallely and to avoid manual submission of so many JCLs.
Thanks
Abhi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RobertL Beginner
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 22 Topics: 0 Location: Lisbon, Portugal
|
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 7:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Abhi,
Try this...
Code: |
//SUBMIT EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSUT1 DD DSN=your.jcllib(NEXTJOB),DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2 DD SYSOUT=(A,INTRDR)
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
|
This will submit NEXTJOB in your.jcllib when executed.
Hope this helps.
Regards,
Robert |
|
Back to top |
|
|
abhisun Beginner
Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Posts: 21 Topics: 9
|
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 8:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you very much Robert !! It worked !! I appreciate your help !! Thanks again !! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nex Beginner
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 8 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2004 2:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A question here :
In case the job which is being invoked from the first job is also having the suffix after tso id in job card similar to the invoking job , then wouldn't the invoked job run after invoking job gets completed ? (i.e. not in parallel) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ravikumar_sri2001 Beginner
Joined: 06 Dec 2002 Posts: 117 Topics: 44 Location: Chennai,India
|
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
nex,
Yes, you are correct.
Thanks,
Ravikumar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 11:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
nex,
If the submitted job also have the same suffix, as the first job, then the submitted job will wait in the queue until the first job completes.
Hope this helps...
cheers
kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|