Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 5:32 pm Post subject: Problems with JCL Code
I have a few quick questions. I am new to JCL and am trying to learn it...
1) In an exec statement, the COND parameter is a 4 digit number correct? So I would define it as
COND=0004
?
2) In a job statement, the TIME parameter is in (min,secs). If I just wanted it to run for 50 mins, would I still have to say
TIME=(50,0) or could it just be TIME=50
3) I'm looking through other people examples on the internet of example jcl streams, and am having problems deciphering whether files used by steps are input/output/ or both... anyone know how I can determine that easily????
Joined: 04 Dec 2002 Posts: 71 Topics: 0 Location: Little Falls, NJ
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 5:52 pm Post subject:
1) you can omit leading zeros, so 4, 04, 004, 0004 are all the same.
2) correct, TIME=50 means 50 minutes
3) you can't tell from the JCL. A DD statement that says DISP=SHR is usually an input dataset, but not always. DISP=NEW or DISP=(,CATLG) or DISP=(,KEEP) creates a new dataset so it almost has to be an output dataset. DISP=MOD means to add records so it is usually an output dataset. But it is the program that determines if a DD is read or written.
[/quote] _________________ Bruce A. Black
Senior Software Developer
Innovation Data Processing
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 114 Topics: 0 Location: Sydney, Australia
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 6:20 pm Post subject:
2) The time is not the duration of the job. It is a limit on the amount of CPU time that can be used within the JOB, it is highly unlikely that any job would consume 50 minutes of CPU tim in 50 minutes, probably even in 500 minutes.
No will encoding the time parameter make a job run for any longer that it takes to do it's job. If a job were to only use 5 seconds CPU and did so in 5 minutes, the job would complete after 5 minutes, irrespective of anything coded in the JCL (OK there are possible exceptions but thats way beyond the scope of this topic).
So to limit a job to 50 minutes duration no you would not code TIME=(50,0). I can't recollect anyway of specifying the duration of a JOB through JCL. Most people would expect a job to do what it has to do in the time it takes to do it, and the time may change vastly from one run to another. You could make a program consider the time and to wait until a given time but that's not JCL. _________________ Regards,
Mike.
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum