View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sharss Beginner
Joined: 27 Aug 2016 Posts: 11 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 11:03 pm Post subject: Dynamically called CICs program not trapping in debugging |
|
|
Hi Team,
After COBOL version 5.1 upgrade,dynamically called CICs program failed to go into debugging mode even though it is executing.
We are using Interst tool to debug
Eg:Main program A is going into debug mode where in called program B is not going into debug mode after setting breakpoint.
Please help |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
sharss Beginner
Joined: 27 Aug 2016 Posts: 11 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 12:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Team,
I have checked the changes.Couldn't find any thing unusual as the called program has logic just to execute.Both the program are compiled in 5.1.What puzzles is Calling program is going into debug mode where in called program is not trapping in debug. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 12:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
sharss wrote: | Hi Team,
I have checked the changes.Couldn't find any thing unusual as the called program has logic just to execute.Both the program are compiled in 5.1.What puzzles is Calling program is going into debug mode where in called program is not trapping in debug. |
Huh? Did you check the compiler options of the called program? If you read the contents in the link i gave you would have noticed the TEST compiler option _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sharss Beginner
Joined: 27 Aug 2016 Posts: 11 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Team,
Just to update before the upgrade it was working fine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sharss Beginner
Joined: 27 Aug 2016 Posts: 11 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Team,
Current compiler option for both program is NOTEST(NODWARF).Does it creates the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
sharss wrote: | Hi Team,
Current compiler option for both program is NOTEST(NODWARF).Does it creates the problem? |
You really need to read upon the compiler options and try to understand what it means. Check this link which explains in detail about the compiler options
http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSQ2R2_9.0.0/com.ibm.ent.cbl.zos.doc/PGandLR/ui/up6050.html
Secondly since you are using CICS, make sure that you did a NEWCOPY to the programs in question. When CICS executes a program , it brings a copy of the load module from the load library into the Dynamic Storage Area in the CICS region. CICS then maintains an address pointer to that area of storage so it can find the program whenever it needs to be executed.
When you linkedit a new version of the program, the CEMT new copy command tells CICS to bring in a fresh copy of the new load module into the storage Area and to reset the address pointer. _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|