View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
deepeshk79 Beginner
Joined: 20 Jun 2003 Posts: 112 Topics: 48 Location: Bangalore
|
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 7:02 am Post subject: Error in pgm |
|
|
Hi All,
Iam getting an error like this ::
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IGZ0033S An attempt was made to pass a parameter address above 16
megabytes to AMODE(24) program program-name.
Explanation: An attempt was made to pass a parameter located above the
16-megabyte storage line to a program in AMODE(24). The called program
will not be able to address the parameter.
Programmer Response: If the calling program is compiled with the RENT
option, the DATA(24) option may be used in the calling program to make
sure that its data is located in storage accessible to an AMODE(24)
program. If the calling program is compiled with the NORENT option, the
RMODE(24) option may be used in the calling program to make sure that its
data is located in storage accessible to an AMODE(24) program. Verify that
no linkedit, binder or genmod overrides are responsible for this error.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have a calling program A which calls program B.
To solve the error i tried compiling program B with both RENT and NORENT, but it didnt work out. Any ideas??
FYI -- The job abended with U4038 abend.
Thanks,
Deepesh |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 8:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Deepesh,
Try compiling your program with this as first line(before Identification Division)
Hope this Helps....
Cheers
Kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
deepeshk79 Beginner
Joined: 20 Jun 2003 Posts: 112 Topics: 48 Location: Bangalore
|
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 8:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Kolusu,
Thanks for your suggestion. But i solved the problem by compiling both the programs with compiler option DATA(24). As they were statically linked, had to compile B first and then A also.
But one doubt now...if we have 100 such pgms statically binded to each other, and if we compile a pgm say 97th one with 24 or 31, shud we go about with the successors also in this way ??
ok bye
* * |
|
Back to top |
|
|
k_sharma Beginner
Joined: 14 Aug 2003 Posts: 10 Topics: 3 Location: Dallas, US
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
hi Deepesh
If all the 100 programs are statically binded to each then you have to compile all the program starting from last program. When the program is statically called, the calling program uses the embedded source code or load module of that program. So if even called program get compiled it won't be updated in Calling program. So we need to compile all the programs that uses called program statically.
Cheers
K sharma |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|