MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tapes help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manojvoona
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:04 am    Post subject: Tapes help Reply with quote

Hi ,

Please some one help me.
we got some Tapes from one of our vendors.

We loaded the tapes onto SILO. Now we only know the Vol SER # and do not know any thing other than that.

Is there way we can pull the tape information to mainframes.

I used the following job to pull
Code:

 //TLODDDIO JOB (E9-OO,'S4/5193'),'2624CHINTA',           
 // MSGCLASS=O,CLASS=H,REGION=6144K,                     
 //         NOTIFY=TSO2624                               
 //STEP1 EXEC PGM=SORT                                   
 //SORTIN DD DISP=OLD,VOL=SER=A20411,UNIT=TAPECR         
 //SYSIN DD *                                             
  SORT FIELDS=COPY                                       
 /*                                                       
 //SORTOUT DD SYSOUT=*                                   
 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                   
 //SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*       


The above job abended with following message.
Code:
       
 JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSOUT                                               
 813-04,IFG0195H,TLODDDIO,STEP1,SORTIN,0424,A20411,SYS07011.T181711.RA000
 TLODDDIO,STEP1   ,        -  UNSUCCESSFUL SORT 813 S REASON=00000004   
 SYMPTOM DUMP OUTPUT                                                     
COMPLETION CODE=813  REASON CODE=00000004                               

Please help us to figure it out
Thanks in advance.

Manoj Voona
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try IDCAMS or IEBGENER?
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manojvoona
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

THanks for reply

I am new to JCL. It will be of great help if you could give me the JOB.

Thanks
Manoj Voona
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there no IEC149I msg? an 813 is a tape open error.
Quote:

Explanation: The error occurred during processing of an OPEN macro instruction for a data set on magnetic tape. This system completion code is accompanied by message IEC149I. Refer to the explanation of message IEC149I for complete information about the task that was ended and for an explanation of the return code (rc in the message text) in register 15.

Programmer Response: Respond as indicated for message IEC149I.

System Programmer Response: If the error recurs and the program is not in error, look at the messages in the job log for more information. Search problem reporting data bases for a fix for the problem. If no fix exists, contact the IBM Support Center. Provide the JCL and the program listing for the job

_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have ditto, that is also a good tape utility
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try this:
Code:

//STEP1OF1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//STATOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//*
//SYSUT1 DD DISP=SHR,DSN=ABCNH.SHR.ASD.A1315  <<<<tape input dsn
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=ADFGGAA.ASR.DDD.A1315,             <<< disk output
// DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// AFF=SYSUT1,                                                           <<<copies dcb from sysut1
// UNIT=(SYSDA,3)                                                      <<<your site standard

_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you continue to have 813's, you are going to have to read you jes (job output msgs) and determine the problem.

could be that it is a multivolume tape, but I don't have any idea until the complete set of error msgs for the 813 is provided.
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bill Dennis
Advanced


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 579
Topics: 1
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can dump the headers (if the tapes are standard label format). The headers are the first thing on the tape, 80 bytes each and contain DSN, RECFM, LRECL, BLKSIZE, etc. The DFSMS manual "Using Magnetic Tapes" explains the header layouts.
Code:

//STEP1OF1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//STATOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//*
//SYSUT1 DD DISP=SHR,DSN=DUMP.TAPE,UNIT=TAPECR,
//    LABEL=(1,BLP),VOL=SER=A20411,            <<< 1,BLP reads hdrs
//    RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=80
//SYSUT2 DD SYSOUT=*

_________________
Regards,
Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manojvoona
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Bill,

Thanks for your Reply !!!.
Can you please help us in resolving some questions.
1. we are not able to get the PDS NAME of the tape.
In the Step you mentioned it as DSN=DUMP.TAPE.
But we do not know the DSName . can we copy to a flat file with out this.

2. with VOLSER, I am not able to see the Tape in the list displayed. should be need to run any job to mount the tape on SILO. I spoke the ADMIN and he said it was mounted. Please let us know the process to copy the tape info to a PS.

Help in this regard is highly appreciated.

thanks in advance.
Manoj Voona
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bill Dennis
Advanced


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 579
Topics: 1
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

manojvoona wrote:

Can you please help us in resolving some questions.
1. we are not able to get the PDS NAME of the tape.
In the Step you mentioned it as DSN=DUMP.TAPE.
But we do not know the DSName . can we copy to a flat file with out this.
Code:
My example is not to create a flat file, just to view the tape HEADER records.  BLP will ignore the DSN, it can be anything. The header records will contain the true DSN, DCB Info, etc.  Knowing this, you will be able to add DSN= to your original JCL and prevent the S813 abend.

2. with VOLSER, I am not able to see the Tape in the list displayed.
Code:
What list?

_________________
Regards,
Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manojvoona
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bill,
Thanks for your reply.
Here is the spool information when I ran the above job.

16.26.10 JOB09720 IEC502E K 0425,A20411,SL,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1
16.26.10 JOB09720 TMS014 IEC502E K 0425,A20411,SL,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1
16.26.10 JOB09720 *IEC501A M 0425,A20411,NL,,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1,DUMMY
16.26.10 JOB09720 *TMS008 IEC501A M 0425,A20411,NL,,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1,DUMMY

The above 4 lines are repeating for ever which I could not figure out.
Please help us in this regard.


Regarding the 2 point in the above message is , We could see all the Tapes in that are in SILO through utility below
Panel Help
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VOLUME LIST SELECTION MENU
Enter Selection or Command ===>

1 DASD - Generate a List of DASD Volumes
2 Mountable Optical - Generate a List of Mountable Optical Volumes
3 Mountable Tape - Generate a List of Mountable Tape Volumes



Use HELP Command for Help; Use END Command to Exit.






. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Screen 2
MOUNTABLE TAPE VOLUME LIST
Command ===> Scroll ===> HALF
Entries 1-22 of 994
Enter Line Operators below: Data Columns 3-7 of 20

LINE VOLUME USE VOLUME CHECKPT LIBRARY STORAGE
OPERATOR SERIAL ATTR ERROR STATUS VOLUME NAME GRP NAM
---(1)---- -(2)-- --(3)-- -------(4)-------- --(5)-- --(6)--- --(7)--
Z20000 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20001 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20002 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20003 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20004 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20005 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20006 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20007 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20008 SCRATCH NO ERROR NO ATLN25 *SCRTCH
Z20009 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20010 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20011 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20012 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20013 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R
Z20014 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20015 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20016 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20017 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20018 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN57 N3590R
Z20019 PRIVATE NO ERROR NO ATLN25 N3590R

We could not see our Tape in the above list.

THanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nitin_agarwal77
Beginner


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Re: Tapes help Reply with quote

This is my first quote and I'm not sure if this is the correct method of posting the reply. But still, here is the method I use to get the Tape related information. Hope this works in your case as well.
I use TSO command in our system to get the tape related information.
The command is 'TSO TSOTIQ'. It prompts for the password and then we can pass on either the DSN name or the Volume Serial number to get the complete info. You may need to talk to your admin to get the TSO command and the password.
Once you get the DSN from Volume Serial Number you can use the methods specified in the thread

manojvoona wrote:
Hi ,

Please some one help me.
we got some Tapes from one of our vendors.

We loaded the tapes onto SILO. Now we only know the Vol SER # and do not know any thing other than that.

Is there way we can pull the tape information to mainframes.

I used the following job to pull
Code:

 //TLODDDIO JOB (E9-OO,'S4/5193'),'2624CHINTA',           
 // MSGCLASS=O,CLASS=H,REGION=6144K,                     
 //         NOTIFY=TSO2624                               
 //STEP1 EXEC PGM=SORT                                   
 //SORTIN DD DISP=OLD,VOL=SER=A20411,UNIT=TAPECR         
 //SYSIN DD *                                             
  SORT FIELDS=COPY                                       
 /*                                                       
 //SORTOUT DD SYSOUT=*                                   
 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                   
 //SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*       


The above job abended with following message.
Code:
       
 JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSOUT                                               
 813-04,IFG0195H,TLODDDIO,STEP1,SORTIN,0424,A20411,SYS07011.T181711.RA000
 TLODDDIO,STEP1   ,        -  UNSUCCESSFUL SORT 813 S REASON=00000004   
 SYMPTOM DUMP OUTPUT                                                     
COMPLETION CODE=813  REASON CODE=00000004                               

Please help us to figure it out
Thanks in advance.

Manoj Voona
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

The command is 'TSO TSOTIQ'. It prompts for the password and then we can pass on either the DSN name or the Volume Serial number to get the complete info. You may need to talk to your admin to get the TSO command and the password.
Once you get the DSN from Volume Serial Number you can use the methods specified in the thread

nitin_agarwal77,

The command you mentioned is valid only if you have CA-1 installed in your shop

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bill Dennis
Advanced


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 579
Topics: 1
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manojvoona wrote:
Hi Bill,
Thanks for your reply.
Here is the spool information when I ran the above job.

16.26.10 JOB09720 IEC502E K 0425,A20411,SL,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1
16.26.10 JOB09720 TMS014 IEC502E K 0425,A20411,SL,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1
16.26.10 JOB09720 *IEC501A M 0425,A20411,NL,,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1,DUMMY
16.26.10 JOB09720 *TMS008 IEC501A M 0425,A20411,NL,,TSO5151A,STEP1OF1,DUMMY

The above 4 lines are repeating for ever which I could not figure out.
Please help us in this regard.


The IEC501A (dupe msg as TMS0008) msg shows the mount request for A20411 as NL (non-labelled format). The IEC502E msg shows the tape is rejected because it is SL (standard label format). The system sees the tape has standard header labels and will not let you process as NL. You need to say LABEL=(2,BLP) to get to the data and bypass the labels.

Or, as I tried to point out before, you can dump it LABEL=(1,BLP) and see in the headers what the true DSN, etc. really is and process it SL.
_________________
Regards,
Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group