MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SYSIN Card Length

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
abracadabra
Beginner


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 101
Topics: 55
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:45 am    Post subject: SYSIN Card Length Reply with quote

Hi,

What is the maximum length of a SYSIN card? If my SYSYIN cannot fit in one line, can I continue to the next line. For example, if I am using an INCLUDE COND=(44,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,44,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,......), what should be the SYSYIN if there other conditions for the same position of 44,4.

Thanks
_________________
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

abracadabra,

The SYSIN dataset length varies from program to program. For sort products the data set must be defined with a RECFM of F or FB and LRECL of 80. If the LRECL is greater than 80, sort will use only the first 80 bytes of each record.

As for no: of max control cards you can code in a sysin dataset depends on the length and format of the field in question. For syncsort this value depends on mincore value which was specified during installation.

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
abracadabra
Beginner


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 101
Topics: 55
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kolusu. So if I have the following INCLUDE COND
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
INCLUDE COND=42,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,42,4,CH,EQ,C'BBB',.......

and this continues, can I use a continuation in the 72nd column and continue with my COND statement?
_________________
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frank Yaeger
Sort Forum Moderator
Sort Forum Moderator


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 1618
Topics: 31
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two ways to continue control statements with DFSORT. The easier way is to break the first line at a comma and continue on the next line, e.g.

Code:

   INCLUDE COND=(42,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,
        42,4,CH,EQ,C'BBB',...


The other way is to run the line up to position 71, put a non-blank in position 72, and then continue on the next line, e.g.

Code:

                                                                       72
   INCLUDE COND=(...................................................C'A*
    AA',...


For complete details on continuing control statements with DFSORT, see:

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/ICE1CA10/3.3.1?DT=20050222160456

Note that the maximum number of control statement lines you can code with DFSORT is very, very large and not dependent on any parameter.
_________________
Frank Yaeger - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
Specialties: JOINKEYS, FINDREP, WHEN=GROUP, ICETOOL, Symbols, Migration
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
abracadabra
Beginner


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 101
Topics: 55
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Frank. Does the same hold good for SYNCSORT too? I have the following SYSYIN card for SYNCSORT

//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
INCLUDE COND=(42,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,42,4,CH,EQ,C'BBB',OR,42,4,CH,EQ,C'C*
CC')
/*
The '*' is in the 72nd column.

The error I am getting is

E1 - DSS11005E - IMPROPER CONTINUATION OF SORT STATEMENT.
E2 - DSS10072E - EXPECTED CONTINUATION WAS NOT RECEIVED AT EOF.
E3 - DSS10083E - SYNTAX ERROR; ')' WAS EXPECTED.
_________________
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

abracadabra,

First of all it is a pro/jcl message. secondly your control cards must be as follows. you are missing an opening quote in last condition.

Code:

//SYSIN    DD *                                                         
 SORT FIELDS=COPY                                                       
 INCLUDE COND=(42,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,42,4,CH,EQ,C'BBB',OR,42,4,CH,EQ,   *
  C'CCC')                                                               
/*                                                                     


The best way to code is, so that it is easier to read as well as maintain the code.

Code:

//SYSIN    DD *                           
 SORT FIELDS=COPY                         
 INCLUDE COND=(42,4,CH,EQ,C'AAA',OR,     
               42,4,CH,EQ,C'BBB',OR,     
               42,4,CH,EQ,C'CCC')         
/*                                       



Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
abracadabra
Beginner


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 101
Topics: 55
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. Thanks Kolusu and Frank
_________________
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group