View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
stalin Beginner
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 Posts: 23 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:57 am Post subject: copying a dataset |
|
|
Hi,
i have the following requirement and i kindly request you all guys to help me out ASAP as the requirement is urgent.
let me now go with my requirement.
i have a two dataset with the following attributes.
RECORD LENGTH - 50
BLOCK SIZE - 5000
RECORD FROMAT - FB
The first dataset contains list of input file names(14 lakhs)
The second dataset contains list of output file names(14 lakhs).
Exp:
in the first data set the file names are
A.B.C
D.E.F
and so on
in the second dataset the file names are
A.B.C.TAPE
D.E.F.TAPE
and so on
i just want to copy the content of A.B.C into the tape file A.B.C.TAPE.
Note: dataset1 and dataset 2 contains only the file name and not the content of the file.
we can copy the content of A.B.C into A.B.C.tape by using IEBGENER.
but since there are 14 lakhs files i cant do it mannualy.
my requirement is , i need a COBOL program which writes the IEBGENER program into another dataset with the following code.
//STEP001 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSUT1 DD DISP=DHR,
// DSN=
//SYSUT2 DD DISP=SHR,
// DSN=
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//STEP002 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSUT1 DD DISP=DHR,
// DSN=
//SYSUT2 DD DISP=SHR,
// DSN=
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
/*
and so on upto 255 steps in single data set and the cobol program has to read the frist records from both the dataset1 and dataset2 and place it on SYSUT1 and SYSUT2 of first step(STEP001). then it has to read the second record and place it on SYSUT1 and SYSUT2 of second step (STEP002) and so on until 255 records.
once it has read the 255th record we have to creat another dataset and copy the IEBGENER code into that and follow the same process until all the 14 lakhs records been read.
once its been done, i can submitt the job from all the dataset to copy the files .
hope i made my requirement clear.
if possible please suggest me someother way to copy he content of those files into tape.
Awaiting your reply eagerly
Thanks in Advance
B.Stalin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Stalin,
you have 1.4 million(10 lakhs = 1 million) files to copy ? wow ! I wonder what kind of organisation have 1.4 million files?
Do you know how many jobs it would require to copy all these datasets? close to 5500 jobs assuming that each job has 255 steps.
It would take days for you to complete the jobs.
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stalin Beginner
Joined: 22 Aug 2005 Posts: 23 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 2:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
yes your right Kolusu,
But i have done it.
Thanks for your reply.
B.Stalin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ravi Beginner
Joined: 27 Jun 2005 Posts: 88 Topics: 2
|
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you run 5500+ jobs And how much time it took to run all the jobs? What utility or routine you have used |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vkphani Intermediate
Joined: 05 Sep 2003 Posts: 483 Topics: 48
|
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Stalin,
Please post your solution. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|