View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Abhi Beginner
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 21 Topics: 4 Location: India, Pune
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 1:36 am Post subject: Submitting jobs dynamically |
|
|
I am trying to set up a utility that will submit jobs in a sequence dynamically to JES. The strategy that I have adopted is -
- I have put all the jobs that I need to submit in one PDS.
- I have a VSAM file with a 8 byte jobname (PDS member name) field as the key and the data area is an array with a list of jobs that need to be triggered once this job (as in the key) gets completed successfully.
- I have coded a proc which has a program and an IDCAMS step. I have added this proc to the end of all jobs in my PDS and this proc receives a parameter i.e. the jobname (PDS membername) which is calling it.
- The program receives this parameter passed to the proc, looks up the VSAM file and creates a REPRO card in the following format and passes it to the next IDCAMS step.
Code: | REPRO -
INDATASET ('MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME1)') -
OUTFILE (OUTDD1)
REPRO -
INDATASET ('MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME2)') -
OUTFILE (OUTDD1)
|
- The IDCAMS uses this card to submit the job to INTRDR.
Now, the problem I am facing is that the first job gets submitted successfully but when IDCAMS tries to REPRO the second job to INTRDR it fails with an error -
Code: | IKJ56225I DATA SET MY.JOB.PDS ALREADY IN USE, TRY LATER
IKJ56225I DATA SET IS ALLOCATED TO ANOTHER JOB OR USER
|
Is there a way to get around this error? I don't think IEBGENER or IEBCOPY can be used for my purpose. I will be grateful for any pointers. I can take it up from there. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
warp5 Intermediate
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 429 Topics: 18 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
A quick solution would be to submit an Idcams step for each repro, that should solve your problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RobertL Beginner
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 22 Topics: 0 Location: Lisbon, Portugal
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
As warp5 said, you should probably submit the IDCAMS JCL as a separate job, but the it should specify the name of the JCL member in a DD statement instead of in the INDATASET parm as shown below. Using INDATASET requires exclusive access to the referenced dataset (why, I don't know. Maybe to ensure the integrity of backups). Using a DD statement and INFILE gets around this issue.
Hope this helps.
Regards,
Robert
Code: | //SUBMIT EXEC PGM=IDCAMS
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//INDD1 DD DSN=MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME1),DISP=SHR
//INDD2 DD DSN=MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME2),DISP=SHR
//OUTDD1 DD SYSOUT=(A,INTRDR)
//SYSIN DD *
REPRO INFILE (INDD1) OUTFILE (OUTDD1)
REPRO INFILE (INDD2) OUTFILE (OUTDD1)
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Abhi,
I would use IKJEFT01 for submitting the jobs.with IDCAMS repro you are copying the jobs once again. You can avoid the copy step by using the SUBMIT command with IKJEFT01
Code: |
//STEP0010 EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSIN DD *
SUB 'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME1)'
SUB 'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME2)'
SUB 'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME3)'
....
/*
|
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Abhi Beginner
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 21 Topics: 4 Location: India, Pune
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank u Kolusu, IKJEFT01 looks like the best option.
Robert, Warp, I can not use multiple IDCAMS step because at any point of time I wouldn't be able to determine how many jobs need to be submitted. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tejnp Beginner
Joined: 26 May 2005 Posts: 1 Topics: 0 Location: Noida, India
|
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Abhi wrote: | Thank u Kolusu, IKJEFT01 looks like the best option.
Robert, Warp, I can not use multiple IDCAMS step because at any point of time I wouldn't be able to determine how many jobs need to be submitted. | I have a question:
would the jobs
'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME1)'
'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME2)'
'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME3)'
run in sequence or can run parallel? I want them to run in sequence... meaning next runs only if current is over. _________________ Regards,
Tej |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Tejnp,
If you want to run the jobs in sequence then have the submit of job trigname2 in trigname1 as last step.
ex: trigname1 job.
Code: |
//TRGNAME1 JOB
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=...
//STEP2 EXEC PGM=...
...
//LASTSTEP EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSIN DD *
SUB 'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME2)'
/*
|
similarly code for other jobs also.
Hope this helps...
Cheers
kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
saro Beginner
Joined: 20 Aug 2005 Posts: 11 Topics: 1 Location: chennai
|
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Kolusu,
Iam new to this group.
this is my first post.
my question is related to this topic only.submitting job thro another job.
1)I want to submit a series of jobs which i would like to submit directly from Panvalet and not from PDS.is it possible ?
and if so
2) i have a schedule(the sequence in which i have to execute).how to acheive running the jobs in the same sequence.
3) and if at all any jobs abend or if i want to stop the chain in midway how do i do it.
Kindly answer
Thanks _________________ Saro
Nothing is great unless God. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum Advanced
Joined: 15 Dec 2002 Posts: 637 Topics: 43 Location: Bengaluru, INDIA
|
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
saro,
Your requirements are more suited for already commercially available softwares called job schedulers. You are trying to re-invent the wheel. Of course, I do not know the complete background of your problem. Nevertheless, a job scheduler is what you are really looking for. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
)I want to submit a series of jobs which i would like to submit directly from Panvalet and not from PDS.is it possible ? |
saro,
If your JCL are in Panvalet library you can use the example posted by me in the post just above your question.
Quote: |
2) i have a schedule(the sequence in which i have to execute).how to acheive running the jobs in the same sequence.
|
Well as cogito mentioned a Job scheduler (ca-7 , control-m , zeke...) is what you need. If you don't have a scheduler then you can simply add a step in jcl to submit the next job.
Ex: if you have 4 jobs namely JOb1, JOb2, Job3, Job4 and you want to run them in the ascending sequence. Add a step in the end to JOB1 which will submit JOb2 and similarly add a step in JOB2 which will submit JOB3 and so on.
Quote: |
3) and if at all any jobs abend or if i want to stop the chain in midway how do i do it. |
If you follow my above suggestion , your chain will stop at the abending job itself
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
saro Beginner
Joined: 20 Aug 2005 Posts: 11 Topics: 1 Location: chennai
|
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cogito and kolusu,
As u said my requirement was more or less a scheduler only.but we are not previlleged use CA7 for testing jobs.it could be used only for production jobs in our project.
my problem is, i have 190 jobs to test,for which i know the flow and the test job
setup is ready.what i expected is to modify your post according to my requirement,
//LASTSTEP EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSIN DD *
SUB 'MY.JOB.PDS(TRIGNAME2)'
/*
in such a way to submit the flow in one strike.sit and watch..
and Kolusu,i didnt want to include this utility in each job to trigger the next coz these are gonna be reviewed by clients(to match exactly the production jobs).
Anyways Thanks for your response. _________________ Saro
Nothing is great unless God. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
in such a way to submit the flow in one strike.sit and watch..
and Kolusu,i didnt want to include this utility in each job to trigger the next coz these are gonna be reviewed by clients(to match exactly the production jobs).
|
Saro,
With the restrictions you have I cannot think of a way to get around.
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
saro Beginner
Joined: 20 Aug 2005 Posts: 11 Topics: 1 Location: chennai
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 3:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thats fine kolusu,
i just wanted to know if any kind of automation is possible.
i'll try to do it in someway and let you know.but your post with IKJEFT01
was really helpfull in carrying out atleast 80 jobs .
Thanks for your efforts. _________________ Saro
Nothing is great unless God. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|