View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sree_vats Beginner
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 1 Topics: 1
|
Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 12:59 am Post subject: Passing Values to COBOL prgs. |
|
|
Is there any way to pass a value from JCL to a COBOL prg other than PARM??????????????
Thankzzzzz |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
sree_vats,
Define a seqfile for the parm values
Code: |
SELECT PARM-FILE
ASSIGN TO PARMFIL
ORGANIZATION IS SEQUENTIAL.
FD PARM-FILE
RECORDING MODE F
LABEL RECORDS ARE OMITTED
DATA RECORD IS PARM-REC.
01 PARM-REC.
05 PARM-VALUE PIC X(80).
|
Hope this helps...
cheers
kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Premkumar Moderator
Joined: 28 Nov 2002 Posts: 77 Topics: 7 Location: Chennai, India
|
Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
or read sysin cards using ACCEPT verb. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vallishar Beginner
Joined: 17 Dec 2002 Posts: 53 Topics: 14 Location: BengaLuru
|
Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have used the Linkage Section to pass the parameters from the JCL using
PARM('the value to be passed'). _________________ If you're not failing every now and again, it's a sign you're not doing anything very innovative. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sujatharamana Beginner
Joined: 14 Jan 2003 Posts: 3 Topics: 1 Location: IL,USA
|
Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
Learnt a new thing.How will the JCL look like, to pass the parameter. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
sujatharamana,
Code: |
//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=COBPGM
//*
//PARMFIL DD DSN=YOUR PARM OTPIONS,
// DISP=SHR
....
//*
|
Hope this helps...
cheers
kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bugs Beginner
Joined: 24 May 2003 Posts: 5 Topics: 1 Location: Indore
|
Posted: Sat May 24, 2003 9:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Kolusu !
I would definitely pass on my heartiest felicitations to you for such an informative site for all the Mainframe techies...
I am curious to know if it is possible to pass the parm options into the file as a instream data as depicted below ?! 8) If yes, am I right when I say that the PARMFIL will have a LRECL of 80 ?!!
//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=COBPGM
//*
//PARMFIL DD *
my parm options
....
....
/* |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sat May 24, 2003 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bugs,
Thanks for your participation on mvsforums.I am glad that you liked it. Pass it on your friends and co-workers.
Yes you can pass the data as instream data. The lrecl of PARMFIL will be 80 bytes as JCL defaults it to 80 bytes.
Kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sathishgay Beginner
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 10 Topics: 2 Location: MUMBAI
|
Posted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
HI sree_vats
I have gone through one book .It states that data can be passed thru DLM PARAMER IN JCL .
THANKS AND REGARDS
SATHISHKUMAR _________________ OK |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|