MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to use SYMBOLICs to concatenate STEPLIB?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DavidJUrban
Beginner


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Topics: 2

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:39 am    Post subject: How to use SYMBOLICs to concatenate STEPLIB? Reply with quote

How can I use symbolics to pass concatenated steplib to a proc? I want to maintain one proc and use it in unit, system, and production environments by passing loadlib to procedure unique to each instance.
This is not working....
IEFC653I SUBSTITUTION JCL - (61724,IBCX),'DURBAN',CLASS=W,MSGCLASS
2 // SET SYMBOL1='C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB1,DISP=SHR'
3 // SET DDDSN1=' DD DSN='
4 // SET SYMBOL2='C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB2,DISP=SHR'
5 // SET DDDSN2=' DD DSN='
6 // SET SYMBOL3='C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB3,DISP=SHR'
//*
//*
7 //COBOL EXEC PGM=TESTCOB
8 //STEPLIB DD DSN=&SYMBOL1.&DDDSN1.$SYMBOL2.&DDDSN2.&SYMBOL3
IEFC653I SUBSTITUTION JCL - DSN=C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB1,DISP=SHR
ALLOC. FOR C62CH97T COBOL
SMS ALLOCATED TO DDNAME STEPLIB
REQUESTED MODULE TESTCOB NOT FOUND
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dtf
Beginner


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 110
Topics: 8
Location: Colorado USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not just override the STEPLIB instead?

//COBOL.STEPLIB DD DSN=C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB1,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB2,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=C62CH97.TEST.LOADLIB3,DISP=SHR

If you really want to use symbolics, I would think that you'd need to have each of the DDDSN and SYMBOL symbolics appear on a seperate line with a "//" at the beginning.
________
drug test kit


Last edited by dtf on Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiv_swami
Beginner


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 68
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:44 pm    Post subject: Symbolics Reply with quote

Hi DavidJUrban,

This should work for you.

Code:

//*
//LIBSRCH JCLLIB ORDER=YOUR.INCLUDE.LIBRARY
// SET RUNENV=D              D,Q,P FOR DEV,QUAL,PROD
// SET RUNSYS=SYS1      SYS1 OR SYS7
//*
//JOBLIB  DD DSN=YOUR.NULL.LOADLIB,DISP=SHR 
//        INCLUDE MEMBER=&RUNENV.&RUNSYS.

You can create a member DSYS1 in include library having all the library concatenations.[/code]
_________________
Regards,
Shivprakash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Bill Dennis
Advanced


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 579
Topics: 1
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

David,
You can't put all the library names on one DD. The PROC would need to look like this:

//STEPLIB DD DSN=&SYMBOL1,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=&SYMBOL2,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=&SYMBOL3,DISP=SHR

Default the symbolics with the production library as SYMBOL1=MY.PROD.LOADLIB, SYMBOL2=MY.PROD.LIBRARY, SYMBOL3=MY.PROD.LIBRARY and change as needed for testing.

Regards,
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidJUrban
Beginner


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Topics: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, bill. It's a winner... now about concatenating a sysinlib....?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group