View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
infoman123 Beginner
Joined: 02 Nov 2004 Posts: 57 Topics: 20
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:56 pm Post subject: hiding some text's in panel |
|
|
I am beginer in rexx/panels.I have written a utility which helps to find the member in list of PDS.I have created two panels for this.PANEL1 and PANEL2.
In panel1 we will give the member name and list of PDSs and if we press enter it will display panel2 with the PDSs which has this members.upto this its working fine.I dont whther we can do this process itself using only one panle.But for simplicity i used two.
I need to do minor enhancement to this by giving an option to select the pds which displayed in panel 2 for browsing the member.
so the approach i am planning is either point and shoot or by giving an option "( )" to "( S )" enter in the left side of the displayed PDS.
I have defined 10 variables in panel2 for VPUT the PDS name but it not necesary that all the 10 variable i defined have data. So this "( )" will be still present for those cases also.How to avoid this.
Sorry for long description.Somebody please help me out |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Phantom Data Mgmt Moderator
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 1056 Topics: 91 Location: The Blue Planet
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
infoman123,
Quote: |
I have defined 10 variables in panel2 for VPUT the PDS name but it not necesary that all the 10 variable i defined have data. So this "( )" will be still present for those cases also.How to avoid this.
|
I didn't quite understand what you are trying to say in the above lines. Also, I don't see any relevance of your question with your post Title "hiding some text's in panel".
you said you have 10 variables in Panel2, what are they used for ? Are these variables used when u select 'S' a particular dataset ? If so why do u need 10 variables ?
Are you using Scrollable panel & ISPF Tables ? (which u should be using for this kind of problems).
Thanks,
Phantom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
infoman123 Beginner
Joined: 02 Nov 2004 Posts: 57 Topics: 20
|
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 1:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
sorry to confuse you..
in the first panel 1
Member Name ==> memname
!-----------------------------------------------
| LIBRARIES TO BE CHECKED
| pds1
| pds2
| pds3
| pds4
after pressing enter it will show panel2
LIBRARIES WHERE THE MEMBER IS PRESENT
--------------------------------------
( ) pds1
( ) pds4
so we can browse the memname in pds1 by puuting (S) in the LHS of pds1.
Now i dont have this option.it will just say PDS where the memname found.
Like this we can give 10 pds name in panel 1 so i declared 10 variables to collect the pds names.But its not mandatory that 10 pds shuld hav this memname.so we will display only the one which we found.
so i want to show "( )" in panel 2 only for the pds's displayed there.So wht kind of attribute should i give for this "( )".
i want to hide these "( )" text,thts why i gave the topic name like this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Phantom Data Mgmt Moderator
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 1056 Topics: 91 Location: The Blue Planet
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
semigeezer Supermod
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 1014 Topics: 13 Location: Atlantis
|
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
As Phantom says, you can use tables with TBDISPL to do this. Or, if you are feeling adventurous (not too though) you can use a dynamic area (for this particular problem, I would consider a dynamic area easier than a table, but it may not be a perfect task for an application where you are learning ISPF).
Alternatively, you can use option 3.4 Data Set List to do what you want. There is a built in MEMBER command in option 3.4 that will find and mark data sets that have a particular member and optionally exclude those that do not contain the member.
You can even create your own list to feed to Dataset list, but that can be a bit complicated. Basially, you either create a 'personal data set list' programatically using undocumented but easily descernable interfaces (not a good idea) and feed it to DSLIST, or you use a LMINIT/LMFREE sequence or some other means to populate the built in REFLIST and feed that to DSLIST (see the DSLIST entry in the ISP command table to find out how). The problem w/ the 2nd method is how to clear out the existing entries in the REFLIST. I'm not sure about that. I'd place both of these suggestions in the 'advanced' category though so I'm not suggesting them outright. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
semigeezer Supermod
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 1014 Topics: 13 Location: Atlantis
|
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
One other built in tool to do what you are looking for is ISRDDN. You can allocate the data sets to a ddname, and invoke ISRDDN by TSO ISRDDN or just DDLIST, then type ONLY ddname[/]
MEMBER [i]member-name
and it will show you the members. You can then use the usual commands to edit, view, etc and ISRDDN supports member patterns. If you specify a full name, then E will edit the member. If you specify a pattern then E will show a member list containing members that match that pattern.
ISRDDN can be invoked with a parameter that is the first command to execute, but to execute more than one command is a little trickier though not impossible (see the CMD operand on the DISPLAY service). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ofer71 Intermediate
Joined: 12 Feb 2003 Posts: 358 Topics: 4 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Take a look at .ATTR and .ATTRCHAR.
O.
________
volcano digital review
Last edited by ofer71 on Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:20 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
infoman123 Beginner
Joined: 02 Nov 2004 Posts: 57 Topics: 20
|
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanx,
i undrstood the concepts of model and table create add etc.I am still working on my requiremnt .
Thanx once again for ur help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|