View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 12:05 pm Post subject: JOB submission through WEB |
|
|
Hello Masters,
Is there a way to submit a job in a PDS through WEB.
Please help me if you have any solution.
Advance thanks.
Rgds,
Bhaskar |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bhaskar,
Please do not post the same question in more than 1 forum. Use FTP commands Specifying "filetype jes", and then PUT your jcl to the mainframe and it'll go to the internal reader which actually will be submitted on the mainframe. The following topic shows an example.
http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=931
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Kolusu,
Thanks for the help.
But from the link ...couldn't get the help.
****************************************
ftp ipaddress
userd
password
quote site filetype=jes
put 'your file having JCL'
quit
****************************************
But from the above code...where can I mention the JOB name which is in a PDS and where can I fit the above FTP code in WEB.
Please help me.
Rgds,
Bhaskar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 5:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bhaskar,
The put 'your file having JCL' statement is the place where you specify the jobname. for ex: Your job to be submitted is in the pds USERID.JCL and the member name is BHASKAR, then you will code
Code: |
put 'USERID.JCL(BHASKAR)'
|
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
superk Advanced
Joined: 19 Dec 2002 Posts: 684 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu, a minor correction. I was just working on this concept just last week.
If you wish to submit a job via FTP, and the JCL resides in a dataset on the target mainframe, rather than in a file on the FTP client system, then you issue a "get" command:
ftp>quote "site file=jes"
ftp>get 'MY.PDS(MYMEMB)'
which 'pulls' the JCL from 'MY.PDS(MYMEMB)' and routes it directly to the JES Internal Reader for execution. Using this method, the ftp process will actually then wait for the completed job and will download the job information at that time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello SUperK,
I reuqest to provide me the code of FTP to submit the JOB through WEB.
Regards,
Bhaskar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maton_Man Beginner
Joined: 30 Jan 2004 Posts: 123 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can access your files on the mainframe using FTP though a web browser but I am fairly confident you cannot submit JCL this way. This is because you can't change the SITE properties through the web browser.
Use native FTP instead. _________________ My opinions are exactly that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Maton Man,
Can you please provide the code for 'Native FTP' to submit the JOB through WEB.
Rgds,
Bhaskar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kathy Beginner
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7 Topics: 2
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:43 am Post subject: JOB from WEB |
|
|
hi,
anyone of the participators provide the piece of code to submit the job from web.
esplly the code on web side.
kathy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
superk Advanced
Joined: 19 Dec 2002 Posts: 684 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bhaskar, I think you need to clarify what you mean by "WEB".
You yourself provided the FTP code:
ftp ipaddress
userd
password
quote site filetype=jes
put 'your file having JCL'
quit
What you have shown will work, whether the FTP connection is over a LAN, a WAN, or the Internet.
Do you mean to say that the client is connected to the mainframe via a web browser? If so, how does this client communicate to the mainframe? Is it via HTTP? Is there some software running in between the client and the mainframe that is converting the mainframe data from one protocol to another? Can the communications software handle this task? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello Superk,
My requirement is like the below....
By using a Java application.. I have to submit a TSO job.
Can any master provide the code for the Java application pls.
Regards,
Bhaskar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
semigeezer Supermod
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 1014 Topics: 13 Location: Atlantis
|
Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why not just use a CGI on the web server to do it? No Java required, probably about 10 or fewer lines of rexx if the JCL is already on the mainframe. The trick is configuring the web server, but you get security for free from the web server, easy access to SSL and easy maintainability. Or you could write your own simplified FTP client (RFC 959), but unless you intend to implement Secure FTP (RFC 2228), you will be building an inherently insecure system. Also, if you are writing an applet that expects to read the users hard drive, you have the security restrictions (the sandbox) of the JVM so you have to handle that in multiple browsers and JVMs. FTP and CGI are just 2 ways to do it. I suspect there are many more (telnet, a home grown monitor on the host, IBM's job monitor shipped with WSED, another vendors' RJE implementations, etc). FTP is the easiest by far, but is not secure. CGI is very easy too if you have the web server expertise and a tiny bit of Rexx. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 2:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
I have used ....
****************************************
ftp ipaddress
userd
password
quote site filetype=jes
put 'your file having JCL'
quit
****************************************
to submit the JOB.
But when I have issued the above cmnds got the below result....
*********************************************************
C:\>ftp tn1234.aa.defg.com
Connected to tn1234.aa.defg.com.
220 Connection will close if idle for more than 5 minutes.
User (tn1234.aa.defg.com:(none)): ABCD00
331 Send password please.
Password:
530 PASS command failed
Login failed.
ftp>
**********************************************************
May I request your help in coming out of this problem.
Thnx
Bhaskar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bhaskar Beginner
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 12 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
Though I have given the right PASSWORD after my UID...I am getting the below error....
Password:
530 PASS command failed
Login failed.
ftp> |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vini Intermediate
Joined: 12 Jan 2004 Posts: 240 Topics: 48 Location: Maryland
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Passwords are often case-sensitive . If you used Upper case (caps) change it to lower and vice versa , that may help. If not , then looks like you somehow have the wrong password. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|