View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
anoopkhetan Beginner
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 Posts: 3 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:42 am Post subject: DF SORT(JCL) |
|
|
I am using DF SORT
I have a input file. Input file have Emp ID in first 10 bytes, Emp name in next15 byte and salary in next 10 bytes. In input file all fields are as Character.
I want to add Salary field of all employee in output file.
Please send me yours suggestions |
|
Back to top |
|
|
amargulies Beginner
Joined: 10 Jan 2007 Posts: 123 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
I assume you mean you want to TOTAL all the salary fields in the file. Is this correct? _________________ Alissa Margulies
SyncSort Mainframe Product Services
201-930-8260
zos_tech@syncsort.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
anoopkhetan,
Try the following DFSORT JCL
Code: |
//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=ICEMAN
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD *
111111111 EMPLOYEENAME01 0000000010
222222222 EMPLOYEENAME02 0000000020
333333333 EMPLOYEENAME03 0000000030
444444444 EMPLOYEENAME04 0000000040
555555555 EMPLOYEENAME05 0000000050
666666666 EMPLOYEENAME06 0000000060
//SORTOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD *
INREC FIELDS=(01,35)
SORT FIELDS=COPY
OUTFIL REMOVECC,NODETAIL,
TRAILER1=('TOT SAL EMPLOYEES : ',
TOT=(26,10,ZD,M11,LENGTH=12))
/* |
Hope this helps...
Cheers _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
anoopkhetan Beginner
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 Posts: 3 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
But ICEMAN is not working here, I want it by using PGM=SORT |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Nic Clouston Advanced
Joined: 01 Feb 2007 Posts: 1075 Topics: 7 Location: At Home
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 4:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
What error message are you getting? Do you have DFSORT or SYNCSORT installed (ICE* or WER* message IDs). _________________ Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
amargulies Beginner
Joined: 10 Jan 2007 Posts: 123 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 9:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Nic Clouston wrote: | Do you have DFSORT or SYNCSORT installed |
With either SORT utility, you should be able to specify PGM=ICEMAN. In most shops, ICEMAN and SORT are both set up as aliases for the system sort utility.
anoopkhetan wrote: | But ICEMAN is not working here, I want it by using PGM=SORT |
As Nic requested, you need to provide the error message you are encountering in order for us to better assist you. _________________ Alissa Margulies
SyncSort Mainframe Product Services
201-930-8260
zos_tech@syncsort.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Frank Yaeger Sort Forum Moderator
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 1618 Topics: 31 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 9:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | In most shops, ICEMAN and SORT are both set up as aliases for the system sort utility. |
DFSORT ships these aliases so they would be available in all shops that use DFSORT unless the System Programmer did something strange when he installed it.
Doesn't Syncsort ship these as aliases too? _________________ Frank Yaeger - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
Specialties: JOINKEYS, FINDREP, WHEN=GROUP, ICETOOL, Symbols, Migration
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort |
|
Back to top |
|
|
amargulies Beginner
Joined: 10 Jan 2007 Posts: 123 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 10:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Frank Yaeger wrote: | Doesn't Syncsort ship these as aliases too? |
Yes. But it is possible for aliases to get disassociated (usually by accident). _________________ Alissa Margulies
SyncSort Mainframe Product Services
201-930-8260
zos_tech@syncsort.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|