MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Procedure

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
javedsk12
Beginner


Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Posts: 66
Topics: 36
Location: pune

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Procedure Reply with quote

Hi

Again i have the question on procedure i have 4 steps in my proc and i want to skip 1 and 4th one. is it possible to skip like this way??if possible then how??i do not want to code any condition on my proc....what ever condition i will be coding is through my jcl.



javed
_________________
javed

-----------------------
The Word Impossible it self says i am possible(im possible)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petluri
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Topics: 5
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try it the following way...

Code:
//STEP01  EXEC procname,                         
//            COND.STEP010=(0,LE),    SKIP THIS PROCSTEP
//            COND.STEP030=(0,LE),    SKIP THIS PROCSTEP
//            COND.STEP040=(0,LE),    SKIP THIS PROCSTEP
//            COND.STEP045=(0,LE),    SKIP THIS PROCSTEP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
expat
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 475
Topics: 9
Location: Welsh Wales

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BUT .................... Always put an EXEC of some kind before the PROC, such as

//DUMMY EXEC PGM=IEFBR14

if you use this technique to skip the first step of a PROC. If the PROC is the first EXEC, then the first step of the PROC will run regardless of the RC checking as it would be the first job step with no previous steps to check against.
_________________
If it's true that we are here to help others,
then what exactly are the others here for ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vkphani
Intermediate


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 483
Topics: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

javed,

Code like below in your JCL.

Code:

//JCLSTEP EXEC PROC,COND.STEP1=(00,LE),COND.STEP4=(00,LE)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
javedsk12
Beginner


Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Posts: 66
Topics: 36
Location: pune

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:09 am    Post subject: procedure Reply with quote

thanks to vkpani,petluri.
_________________
javed

-----------------------
The Word Impossible it self says i am possible(im possible)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group