View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
suma Beginner
Joined: 23 Jan 2006 Posts: 65 Topics: 29
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:03 am Post subject: VSAM Status code 96 |
|
|
I have defined the INPUT-FILE in the COBOL program as shown below....
Code: |
SELECT INPUT-FILE ASSIGN TO FILE1
ORGANIZATION IS INDEXED
ACCESS IS DYNAMIC
RECORD KEY IS A-PRIMEKEY
ALTERNATE RECORD KEY IS A-ALTERNATIVE-KEY
FILE STATUS IS VSAM-STATUS.
|
And I using this JOB to run the program pgm1 as shown below...
Code: |
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=pgm1
//FILE1 DD DSN=INPUT.FILE1,DISP=SHR,
//FILE2 DD DSN=OUTPUT.FILE2,DISP=SHR
//FILE3 DD DSN=OUTPUT.FILE3,DISP=SHR
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
//
|
when I run this job I am getting VSAM-STATUS as 96. I found that the 96 will come when
No DD statement for the file. can anyone tell me when I am wrong in the above JCl...
Thanks in advance.
suma |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hariavinash Beginner
Joined: 21 Jan 2005 Posts: 52 Topics: 7
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
There is a COMMA after the DISP parm. take that out.
cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Nic Clouston Advanced
Joined: 01 Feb 2007 Posts: 1075 Topics: 7 Location: At Home
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the extra comma would make the job NOT RUN - JCL ERROR. The job has run so this is a partial cut and paste and maybe the clue has not been pasted? I'm not that familiar with VSAM and COBOL so cannot help. _________________ Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dbzTHEdinosauer Supermod
Joined: 20 Oct 2006 Posts: 1411 Topics: 26 Location: germany
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
does INPUT.FILE1 exist? is it catalogued? _________________ Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
suma,
Ok The error you are getting is because your pgm is coded to access the alternate index. If you are planning to use the alternate index you need to provide path in the JCL.
Search the forum for all the words "alternate path" and you will find a very good example
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
suma Beginner
Joined: 23 Jan 2006 Posts: 65 Topics: 29
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Kolasu for your help..
your suggestion holds good.. Here the real problem was this VSAM file was creating a DD statement for itself.
After looking into the spool I found that there I have to use assigned DD name.
Can anybody tell me why this happened!!??
and as per suggestion I used PATH dataset, now I am getting error code 95!.
Please help in this regard.
Thanks
suma.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
suma,
1. Learn to spell my name correctly.
2. show us the JCL where are you allocated the path to a ddname.
3. Show us all the error messages
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|