View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
geetha001 Beginner
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 Posts: 41 Topics: 14
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:12 pm Post subject: Changing a string in all the members of a PDS |
|
|
1. Please let me know if there is a single command in TSO that can be used to change a particular string in all the members of a PDS.
2. I already reviewed this forum, to use REXX and FileAid to change a string in all the members of PDS.
3. I do not have FileAid in my shop, if there is no command, is there an alternative method to do this other than REXX ?
4. Also, I tried REXX programming to do this and I find that when I go into the dataset and executed the DOEDIT CHGALL REXX command by editing a PDS member, I will have to hit PF3 until I finish scanning all the members in the PDS dataset. Is there a easy way to do this ?
Thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
geetha001,
There is NO single command which can change strings in all members. You need rexx/file-aid/file manager. Since you already ruled out File-aid try this
Courtesy of : http://www.sysprog.net/rexx.html
One of the most useful REXX execs is an edit macro to change a specified string in all members of a PDS. In this example the driver EXEC is called DOEDIT, and the edit macro containing the string to change is called CHGALL.
_________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
superk Advanced
Joined: 19 Dec 2002 Posts: 684 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try IPOUPDTE, if you have access to it:
Code: |
//STEP000X EXEC PGM=IPOUPDTE,
// PARM='UPDATE'
//STEPLIB DD DISP=SHR,DSN=HLQ.IPOUPDTE.LOADLIB
//@LIB1 DD DISP=SHR,DSN=THE.PDS
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD *
FROM STRING<TO STRING<
/*
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
geetha001 Beginner
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 Posts: 41 Topics: 14
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you Kolusu and Superk for your replies.
Superk,
When I tried to use the IPOUPDTE, I got the following message
STEP000X STEPLIB - DATA SET NOT FOUND
In fact I changed the HLQ to the highlevel qualifier used at our shop, and that did not work either. I got the same Dataset not found message.
Kolusu,
With the DOEDIT CHGALL command, after opening a member in the edit mode, I see that I have to keep hitting PF3 until I finish going through all the members in the PDS. Can this be avoided ?
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blitz2 Beginner
Joined: 23 Jan 2007 Posts: 84 Topics: 14
|
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu, thanks for putting in a detailed explanation like that. It helps other inexperienced members like me to understand things much better.
________
SHIP SALE
Last edited by blitz2 on Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:29 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mervyn Moderator
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 415 Topics: 6 Location: Hove, England
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
geetha001 wrote: | With the DOEDIT CHGALL command, after opening a member in the edit mode, I see that I have to keep hitting PF3 until I finish going through all the members in the PDS. Can this be avoided ?
Thank you. |
Insert "ISREDIT END" before the RETURN statement in the edit macro. _________________ The day you stop learning the dinosaur becomes extinct |
|
Back to top |
|
|
semigeezer Supermod
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 1014 Topics: 13 Location: Atlantis
|
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
also be aware that as written, the macro will change every member EXCEPT the one you are editing |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|