MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

WER400A - uninitialized sequential disk data set

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bala
Beginner


Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Topics: 6
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:54 am    Post subject: WER400A - uninitialized sequential disk data set Reply with quote

Our production program uses SYNCSORT, and has 2500 concatenated datasets in sortin step.

Sort step failed with the following error message:
Code:

WER400A  SORTIN   IS AN UNINITIALIZED SEQUENTIAL DISK DATA SET

Reason for failure:
One of the dataset (out of 2500) does not have any data i.e. it is an empty dataset, this causes the above failure. From the narrow down search manually I have found the empty dataset and deleted that which resolved my issue.

My question:
Each time I don't want to find the empty file(s) in the big 2500 dataset list (this took more time). Even though sortin has empty inputs, skip those files and complete the sort process automatically. Is there any option available in syncsort to achieve this? or, at least I need empty dataset names in sort sysout log.

Thanks in advance for your response.

PS.: I have searched following links but not gives solution to my issue..
http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=2566
http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=6040
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amargulies
Beginner


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 123
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please check your setting for the UNINTDS installation option. If you currently have it set to 'NO', this could be the cause of the critical error. In order to avoid the WER400A in this scenario, you can either change your install option, or simply pass UNINTDS=YES as a runtime parameter. Please let me know if your require further assistance in changing your installation options or if this does not resolve the problem.
_________________
Alissa Margulies
SyncSort Mainframe Product Services
201-930-8260
zos_tech@syncsort.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bala
Beginner


Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Topics: 6
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Margulies, Thanks for your reply.
Quote:

simply pass UNINTDS=YES as a runtime parameter


I have already tried that option UNINTDS in runtime, but I get JCL Error.

Code:
//SORT11  EXEC PGM=SORT,UNINTDS=YES

Error:
Code:
UNIDENTIFIED KEYWORD UNINTDS


Please let me know how to use that parameter. When we change parm in Syncsort installation itself then it will be reflected in all the sort calls, right? But, I want to implement this only to this particular JOB.

Please share your thoughts.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12367
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bala,

try this

Code:

//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=SORT,PARM='UNINTDS=YES'


Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bala
Beginner


Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Topics: 6
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu, thanks for your input.

I don't want to wait for my next same production abend to check your inputs. So, just I have wanted to create the same error what I got previously using my sample JCL and then have a plan to use your input (PARM='UNINTDS=YES') to check.

But, I have not got any errors in following JCL where ITEM.A1 & ITEM.A2 which have some data but I created ITEM.EMPTY as an empty dataset. Please do let me know why I have not received same abend as like - WER400A SORTIN IS AN UNINITIALIZED SEQUENTIAL DISK DATA SET this time. Sorry to go back again to starting place.

Code:
//SORT11  EXEC  SORTMAX,PRI=100,CYL=100
//SORTIN  DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=ITEM.A1
//        DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=ITEM.EMPTY
//        DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=ITEM.A2
//SORTOUT  DD DSN=&&TEMP12,
//             DISP=(NEW,PASS,DELETE),
//             DCB=(RECFM=FB,LRECL=195,BLKSIZE=8775),
//             UNIT=(SYSSQ,59),SPACE=(CYL,(50,50),RLSE)
//SYSIN    DD *
     SORT FIELDS=(1,17,CH,A),EQUALS
     OUTREC FIELDS=(1,191,C'1429')
/*


Thank you,
Bala
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12367
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bala,

Couple of clarifications.

1. In the first case you got the error becuase your file does NOT have an End-of-file marker. Just because your file is empty that does NOT mean you don't have an end-of-file marker. I don't how you allocated an empty dataset , but I am guessing that the EOF marker is set before you ran the sort step. SMS Managed shops do not have this problem. The EOF mark is automatically set.

There is good discussion about the EOF marker here

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?p=12358#12358

2. You don't need to provide the DCB properties on the sortout. Sort automatically
copies it from the input or outrec control cards.

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bala
Beginner


Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Topics: 6
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I don't how you allocated an empty dataset , but I am guessing that the EOF marker is set before you ran the sort step. SMS Managed shops do not have this problem. The EOF mark is automatically set.

Previously I used 3.2 option to create the empty dataset. Now, I have tried to create it by JCL coding and checked the sort. Yes, it is working, now I do see the same 'uninitilized' error in my sort.

Quote:

//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=SORT,PARM='UNINTDS=YES'


Then, I have passed parameter as like in the above quote, yes it is working good, successful completion of sort.

Thanks a lot Kolusu, Margulies.....
Bala
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group