View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jajularamesh Beginner
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 87 Topics: 33
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:24 am Post subject: Tape to disk copy |
|
|
Hi,
I have to copy a tape dataset to a disk.Please let me know how this can be done.
I have searched the forum but i am no able to find anything related to this
Regards,
Venkata Apparao Jajula(Ramesh) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
anbesivam Beginner
Joined: 09 Aug 2006 Posts: 66 Topics: 14
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Venkata,
Code: | //STEP1OF1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//STATOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=* <--- LRECL=121 --->
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUD DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSUT1 DD DISP=SHR,DSN=<--- SOURCE -->
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=<---DESTINATION DATASET--->,
// DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=(SYSDA,3),
// SPACE=(TRK,(15,30),RLSE),
// DCB=*.SYSUT1 <--- DCB CHARACTERISCS OF INPUT |
Hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
expat Intermediate
Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 475 Topics: 9 Location: Welsh Wales
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 2:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do not code the DCB=*.SYSUT1 parameter, but instead code the RECFM and LRECL of the dataset.
By using the BLKSIZE of the tape dataset you could waste a hell of a lot of DASD space by bad blocking. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jajularamesh Beginner
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 87 Topics: 33
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 2:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Actullay i am using the same jcl but i am getting a space abend SD37
I increased the space & tried to run but still i am getting the same.
Currently i allocated space in cylenders primary - 100 & secondary - 150 but still i am getting same abend.
So i thought like any other utilities will be helpful for copying huge file
Regards,
Venkata apparao Jajula |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bharath.AK Beginner
Joined: 13 Jul 2007 Posts: 34 Topics: 10 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Venkata,
Please try using the below code either. It's just a SORT!
Code: | //STEP010 EXEC PGM=SYNCSORT,REGION=4096K
//SORTIN DD DSN=Input disk file,
// DISP=SHR
//* LABEL IS USED TO RETAIN THE DATASET FOR LONG. ESPECIALLY 99000
//* IS GIVEN WHEN YOU WANT THE FILE ON TAPE TO BE NOT DELETED EVER
//SORTOUT DD DSN=Output file name2,
// UNIT=TAPE,VOL=(,,,99),LABEL=EXPDT=99000,
// DCB=(SYS1.DSCB,RECFM=FS,DSORG=PS)
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
//* |
_________________ Regards,
BK
***** " If You Have To Do It, You Might As Well Do It Right.....If It Is Worth Doing At All, It's Worth Doing It Right !!! " ***** |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bharath.AK,
The poster is trying to copy a TAPE dataset to DASD and you show a JCL creating another Tape dataset.
And what is the point of coding SYS1.DCSB in DCb parm? You are creating a spanned record with the JCL. Please understand the question and post the solutions accordingly.
Quote: |
Actullay i am using the same jcl but i am getting a space abend SD37
I increased the space & tried to run but still i am getting the same.
|
jajularamesh,
There must be a valid reason for the input file to be on tape. It might be huge and hence it is on tape. And looking the errors I can say that it is indeed huge. Why not copy a subset of the input file like first 1000 records . use the following JCL
Code: |
//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=SORT
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DSN=Input tape file,
// DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT DD DSN=Output file name2,
// DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=SYSDA,
// SPACE=(CYL,(30,15),RLSE)
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
OPTION STOPAFT=1000
/*
|
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dbzTHEdinosauer Supermod
Joined: 20 Oct 2006 Posts: 1411 Topics: 26 Location: germany
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
jajularamesh,
you may want to know what is on the tape. here is a link with a couple of ideas how to generate a 'map' of the tape. Then you would know what DASD resources you require. _________________ Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
kolusu wrote: | You are creating a spanned record with the JCL. |
In this example for fixed length records, the "RECFM=FS" means standard, not spanned. Only full blocks are written (no truncated blocks), with the exception of the last block!
Spanned records are only a variable length concept. _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jajularamesh Beginner
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 87 Topics: 33
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks All
The suggestions/solutions given are really helpful
Regards,
Venkata Apparao Jajula(Ramesh) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
In this example for fixed length records, the "RECFM=FS" means standard, not spanned. Only full blocks are written (no truncated blocks), with the exception of the last block!
|
Bill Dennis,
Thanks Bill for clarifying the "Standard" vs "Spanned" concept
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|