MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is there any possiblity to get unmacthed data in db

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
js01
Beginner


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 84
Topics: 32
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:10 pm    Post subject: Is there any possiblity to get unmacthed data in db Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying to update 2000 products thru running a query thru JCL
and givenig as file input in where clause ,
i want to know that not updated products (not found in database)
is teher any possibiliy

ex:

UPDATE PRODUCT
SET QTY = 100
WHERE PRODUCTid IN ( 10,11,12,16,17)

product id 10,12,16 got found in database ,
11 and 17 are not found

i would like to get a list of not found ( 11,17)

please help me.

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shekar123
Advanced


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 528
Topics: 90
Location: Bangalore India

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

js01,

You can use the query below to know all avaialble PRODUCTID in the table , the result will give you entire list .
Code:

SELECT DISTINCT PRODUCTID FROM PRODUCT;

Say it gives values;
Code:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
12
13
14
15
16
18
19
20

When you are using the UPDATE query you are giving few PRODUCTID rows to be updated as ( 10,11,12,16,17) ,so rows will be updated which will meet the criteria and rest PRODUCTID rows will remain unaffected.So by this way you can know not updated PRODUCTID rows.Hope this helps.
_________________
Shekar
Grow Technically
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

product id 10,12,16 got found in database ,
11 and 17 are not found

i would like to get a list of not found ( 11,17)




huh? I am confused here . If you did not find in the table how do you expect them to be listed ?

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
js01
Beginner


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 84
Topics: 32
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,
So , it is not possible ,am i right?

i think i will have to write a program.

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shekar123
Advanced


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 528
Topics: 90
Location: Bangalore India

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

js01,

Code a program ! what for .If u read the answers to the post you can easily make that if the PRODUCTID is not present in the table itself how are you going to get the PRODUCTID.

Please understand the answers to the post.
_________________
Shekar
Grow Technically
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firoze
Beginner


Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of the systems I worked , All the tables contains columns for update time stamp and update user id.In your case you can execute a query to see find out which are not updated.

Another method , you run a select query before running the update query to identify non matching rows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

js01 wrote:
Kolusu,
So , it is not possible ,am i right?

i think i will have to write a program.

thank you


js01,

First of all I did not even understand your question correctly. So I cannot say it is NOT possible. I am not sure writting a program will solve the problem

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
js01
Beginner


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 84
Topics: 32
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

all,


I think i may confusing you....

please leave about the update...lets take a select statement

it may be stupid question ,but i usally get this type of requirement ,
i used to write a porgram (read one by one from input file and move this productid to hostvariable and run a select query ,if error code = 0 then next sentence
else (sqlerror=100) display 'not found' and write into ouput file)

but i want to kow if it possible thru sql .

ex:

product table

---------------------------
prodname | qty
--------------------------
ipod | 10
notebook | 20
camera | 40
---------------------


below is the slec query

select * from product
where prodname in ('ipod','notbbok','pendrive')

reslut will be:

ipod | 10
notebook | 20

so that means 'pendrive' is not in db , i would like to display it in resultset like below


ipod | 10
notebook | 20
pendrive | not found


we can use join with temp table.

but i dont want to do as i get arround 900K products and takes more time.

Please advise and let me know if it is not clear.

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Database All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group