View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
satishsv Beginner
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 Posts: 6 Topics: 3 Location: Pella, IA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:26 pm Post subject: Altering Tablespace |
|
|
Hi,
We have a tablespace created in the following way.
Code: |
CREATE TABLESPACE ABC123
IN $DBNAME$
USING STOGROUP $STRGRP$
PRIQTY 192
SECQTY 48
ERASE NO
FREEPAGE 0
PCTFREE 5
DEFINE NO
TRACKMOD NO
SEGSIZE 4
BUFFERPOOL $TBSPBP$
LOCKSIZE ANY
CLOSE NO
COMPRESS NO
LOCKPART NO;
|
But, we need to alter the tablespace with \\\"DEFINE YES\\\" instead of \\\"DEFINE NO\\\". Is this possible? Can you also give me the solution if it is possible?
Thanks a lot for your help.
Regards,
Satish |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
satishsv,
If you haven't inserted any data into the tablespace then I would advise you to drop and re-create the tablespace again with DEFINE YES.
With DEFINE NO the data sets are not created until data is inserted into the table space. DB2 uses the SPACE column in catalog table SYSTABLEPART to record the status of the data sets (undefined or allocated).
The value is -1 if the table space was defined with the DEFINE NO clause, which defers the physical creation of the data sets until data is first inserted into one of the partitions, and data has yet to be inserted. If you have authority then you can update this space column with Integer number of kilobytes. This will be DASD storage allocated to the table space partition, as determined by the last execution of the STOSPACE utility or RUNSTATS utility. The value is 0 if STOSPACE or RUNSTATS has not been run. The value is updated by STOSPACE if the table space is related to a storage group
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
satishsv Beginner
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 Posts: 6 Topics: 3 Location: Pella, IA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
Your reply is really helpful to me. I shall go ahead and try the option that you have given me of updating SYSIBM.SYSTABLEPART.
Thanks,
Satish |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|