MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Passing parameters to ISPF through Rexx

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bindu
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 17
Topics: 7

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 7:02 am    Post subject: Passing parameters to ISPF through Rexx Reply with quote

Hello All,
I need to pass parameters to ISPF through my Rexx program ..How can we do it ?
Regards,
Bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bindu,

Can you elaborate as to what you are trying to do ,so that we can come up with a solution? Do you want to modify any logon settings or increase the region size??

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bindu
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 17
Topics: 7

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Kolusu,
The problem is that i have to write a Rexx program which accepts user input and pass these parameters to ISPF edit macro to do a find and replace.The string to be found and replaced are accepted as the input ..
I wish to know how the rexx program can pass parameters to edit macro and how the macro can accept it
Regards
Bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12372
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bindu,

You can do it with a VPUT in your REXX routine and a VGET in the edit macro.check the link below for passing parameters to an edit macro

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/ISPZEM00/2.2.3.6?DT=20001109114810

Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ofer71
Intermediate


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 358
Topics: 4
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

You allways can use PUSH and PULL.

Another way is to save the parameters as dataset, and read them later.

In my opinion, the VPUT & VGET way is the easiest and safest way.
________
volcano classic


Last edited by ofer71 on Sat Feb 05, 2011 10:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 700
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bindu,

In case you want to replace some big strings I guess you will have to use pull command to get the strings, though this will probably make the macro less fun to use. Following macro, not tested, should work in this case -

Code:

 /* REXX program to change big strings */

 address ISREDIT
 "MACRO"
 say 'Give old string to replace'
 pull old_str
 say 'Give new string to replace with'
 pull new_str
 "CHANGE '"old_str"' '"new_str"'"

 exit


Diba


Last edited by Dibakar on Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bindu,
Maybe this would help?

Code:

/** REXX **/
address isredit " macro (o n)"
isredit "CHANGE " o n
exit


Suppose, you save the above code as M1. You can invoke it as,
Code:
 M1 old new

_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 700
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cogito,

This can be done without any macro as "c old new". I guess Bindu's problem is in replacing long string, when the content wont fit command line.

Diba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dibakar,
Of course. That is what I felt, while I was posting. But, I did not want to guess. Probably, she would clarify.
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
Beginner


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 17
Topics: 7

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to run the macro .. thanks for all the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group