View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Meena_ramanathan Beginner
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 Posts: 11 Topics: 7
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:04 pm Post subject: Strobe to find out CPU usage |
|
|
Hi,
Is there any site from where i can find out how to use strobe to monitor the CPU usage when a job runs.
I'm trying to find out what CPU time it takes to initialize an array of a million occurences coded in cobol.
Any pointers? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Meena_ramanathan,
Quote: |
Is there any site from where i can find out how to use strobe to monitor the CPU usage when a job runs.
|
If you are licensed user of strobe, you can contact
http://frontline.compuware.com/
Quote: |
I'm trying to find out what CPU time it takes to initialize an array of a million occurences coded in cobol.
|
That depends on "how" you are initializing the array. Are you using INITILIAZE verb, or perform stmt or Moving 01 level init array ?
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
haatvedt Beginner
Joined: 14 Nov 2003 Posts: 66 Topics: 0 Location: St Cloud, Minnesota USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 3:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Meena,
perhaps you should consider if its possible to code a process which does not require an array to be initialized. I avoid initializing arrays if at all possible. I use ODO (variable length) arrays when using a binary search (SEARCH ALL). This allows for the array to not require initialization.
The only situation that I have found which absolutely requires initialization is a technique sometimes referred to as a "sparse table/array". This is usually encountered in hash tables. Note that "direct index" tables are really a special case of a hash table.
So a better solution to your issue might be is there a process which would eliminate the need to initialize the array ????
Chuck Haatvedt _________________ Chuck Haatvedt
email --> clastnameatcharterdotnet
(replace lastname, at, dot with appropriate
characters) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|