View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
amit4u79 Beginner
Joined: 24 Oct 2005 Posts: 109 Topics: 36 Location: India
|
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:38 pm Post subject: Take a dump of SMF data sets to a flat file !! |
|
|
Hi, I have a requirement to take a dump of all 3 SMF data sets(sys1.man1/2/3) to a flat file. I have used IDCAMS and it copies data to a flat file but there are some roadblocks here :
a) When I give a LISTCAT against the SMF VSAM data set it shows that it has an AVGLRECL of 4086 and MAXLRECL of 32767, but to take the backup to a flat file I would need to allocate it as VB, LRECL of 32767, but that LRECL is not allowed for allocation of a data set.
b) It uses 250 cyls of data and my TSO region size limit does not allow me to allocate a data set with such a space size ....anyways this is an issue I can take care of...but kindly help me resolve the first issue...
Thanks,
- Amit. _________________ I did not fail; I have found 10,000 ways that would not work - Albert Einstein. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nevilh Beginner
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 115 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
//COPY EXEC PGM=IFASMFDP
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//IN DD DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.MAN1
//OUT DD DISP=(,CATLG),DSN=output.file,UNIT=3390,
// SPACE=(CYL,(250,100))
//SYSIN DD *
INDD(IN,OPTIONS(DUMP))
OUTDD(OUT,TYPE(000:255))
/*
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
1) Look at LRECL=X parameter in JCL manuals
2) SMF records exist as RECFM=VBS, meaning a large record can span multiple, smaller physical blocks. When you read your flat file, you'll need to allow for this. There are DCB parameters (BKTEK=A,BFALN=D) to assist with this. _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taltyman JCL Forum Moderator
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 310 Topics: 8 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
The SMF data you want is probably already being stored in a gdg. The SMF data in the man files is just the most current records. The way the smf man files work normally is: one is the 'current' one and records are written there then it fills up and SMF switches to the next one; automation or an mpf exit then dumps and clears the one that filled up. So at any point in time you could have one (or two) empty, or one being dumped/cleared and one partially full or a similar combination. Try the D SMF mvs system command to see your current situation. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|