Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:26 am Post subject: How to copy fields in screen using macros in RUMBA
Hi all,
I have recorded a macro to process some transaction and tried to copy a field by dragging with left mouse button and right click mouse button and selected copy but it is not recorded in my macro. I even tried with Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V
Please let me know how can do this.
My macro is like this
Code:
Type " s0000005"
Keystroke: Enter
Wait for screen
Keystroke: Home
Keystroke: Tab
Type "fh"
Keystroke: PF2
Wait for screen
Keystroke: Tab
Keystroke: Tab
Type "s"
Keystroke: Enter
Wait for screen
Keystroke: PF3
Wait for screen
Type "ac"
Keystroke: PF2
Wait for screen
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 5:50 am Post subject:
chandra,
Copy and paste from help menu of rumba !
You can use the Macro Editor to write, edit, and print macros. When editing macros, you can change the macro command sequence, add or delete macro commands, change macro command parameters, and define macro variables.
To open a macro in the Macro Editor:
Code:
To open the Macro Editor, right-click in the session window, then choose Edit Macro.
Click , specify the macro to edit, and then click Open. The Macro Editor displays the macro command sequence. Note: The Open dialog box defaults to the current macro folder (the most recent folder used to open or save a macro file).
The system default macro folder is webroot\w2hlegacy\host type\Macros\
Where host type is mframe, as400, or unix. The webroot folder depends on your browser and operating system. For example:
For Windows NT and Internet Explorer, the default path is typically c:\winnt\Java\w2hlegacy\host type\Macros
For Netscape, the default path is typically c:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\default or username\w2hlegacy\host type\Macros
To edit a macro:
Code:
Open the macro to edit, then make any changes needed:
To add a macro command to the end of the script, click the appropriate macro command button (or right-click in the box below, choose Add, and then select the command).
Some commands require you to specify command parameters. You can also create and use macro variables for text that you need to type or search for. For details on macro commands and parameters, click Macro commands in the left (Contents) frame.
To change the order of the command sequence, right-click the command you want to move, then select Move Up or Move Down.
To copy commands and text, click on the Macro Editor toolbar.
To insert commands or Clipboard text, drag the insert pointer to the line below the destination line, then click the macro command button or click to paste Clipboard text. The new command or text appears above the selected command line.
To delete a macro command, click the command to delete, then press Delete or click .
To change macro command parameters, double-click the command, then specify the new parameters. For details on macro commands and parameters, click Macro commands in the left (Contents) frame.
To create or change macro variables, right-click in the bottom half of the window, then choose Variable Setup.
(Optional) To run this macro automatically whenever your PC connects to or disconnects from a host, select the appropriate check box in the Macro Editor window.
Tip: You can also use the Windows keyboard shortcuts for Cut (CTRL+X), Copy (CTRL+C), and Paste (CTRL+V).
To save your changes, do one of the following:
Code:
To update the current macro file, click .
To save the macro in a different file, specify the full path of the new file in the Macro Name field, then click . (To browse for the new folder, clear the Macro Name field, click , specify the new file name and folder, and then click Save.)
By default, the macro is saved with the .xmc file extension in the current macro folder (the most recent folder used to open or save a macro file).
The system default macro folder is: webroot\w2hlegacy\host type\Macros\
Where host type is mframe, as400, or unix. The webroot folder depends on your browser and operating system. For example:
For Windows NT and Internet Explorer, the default path is typically c:\winnt\Java\w2hlegacy\host type\Macros
For Netscape, the default path is typically c:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\default or username\w2hlegacy\host type\Macros
Close the Macro Editor, then run the new macro to verify that it performs correctly.
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 8:01 am Post subject:
dibakar,
Click on the MACRO record button(camcorder icon) and follow this procedure
Code:
1. type 3.13
2. provide the dataset names to compare
3. choose the batch option
4. edit the batch jcl and given an output dataset name.
5. upon successful completion of the job choose option 6
6. select the file transer option from the rumba tool bar
7. give the file name to be transfered.
8. perform the transfer process.
9. stop the macro
Thanks You.
I am able to run the compare two dataset macro, but my recuiment is I want to copy data from position 2,25 to 2,35 and paste into excel.
To do this I selected EDIT MACRO in tool bar then selected Copy From tab and given Selection Start and Selection End values then the following command comes in my macro
Quote:
Copy From [2,25] to [2,35]
when I selected paste to tab I have given cursor position but in the External Application there is only RUMBA Display Sesion. So I selected it and the values are displaying in mainframe itself. I want to store these vales in excel sheet.
Please let me know how can I give EXCEL/WORD instead of RUMBA Display session. _________________ Regards,
Chandra
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 700 Topics: 63 Location: USA
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:43 am Post subject:
Kolusu,
I did not state my requirement properly. I was thinking of comparing values on the screen.
Say I want to run a macro which will show a message 'File Aid' if I am in a File Aid scree, 'Abend Aid' if I am in Abend Aid and so on. For this I will need to compare/validate values in particular position in a screen. This is what I meant by comparing.
Quote:
5. upon successful completion of the job choose option 6
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:53 am Post subject:
Quote:
Say I want to run a macro which will show a message 'File Aid' if I am in a File Aid scree, 'Abend Aid' if I am in Abend Aid and so on. For this I will need to compare/validate values in particular position in a screen. This is what I meant by comparing
Dibakar,
You can negotiate the SCRNAME value to find the screen you are in. SCRNAME should be turned ON before you can use it.
Quote:
How do I do this in a macro?
You can select the download option on the rumba menubar, while you are still in the RECORD macro mode.
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 700 Topics: 63 Location: USA
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 4:23 am Post subject:
Quote:
You can negotiate the SCRNAME value to find the screen you are in.
Kolusu,
This is exactly my problem. I have turned it on and I can see the name. But how can I evaluate the SCRNAME in my macro, this is the part I am not able to figure.
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum