MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Validate every byte in a field
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 7:07 am    Post subject: Validate every byte in a field Reply with quote

I have a varible of four bytes which will have valid data only if all the four bytes are in A-Z or 0-9. I was thinking of validating all the four bytes one by one. This requires four checks. Can anyone suggest a better check for this.

Thanks,
Dibakar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
faisal
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Topics: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how about: >= '0000' and <= 'ZZZZ'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Premkumar
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 77
Topics: 7
Location: Chennai, India

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't strings like 'AA}A' and such fail ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Faisal
In VS COBOL II it would be >= 'AAAA' nad <= '9999'.

Premkumar
You are right, it will fail for some cases like 'B B '.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DaveyC
Moderator


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 151
Topics: 3
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could test every byte in a loop

pseudo-code...

Code:

for i = 1 to length
  if ( string[i] <= 'A' and string[i] >= 'Z'  and
       string[i] <= '0' and string[i] >= '9' ) then do
    ... got an error ...
  end-if
end-for


You could also write a routine in assembler that uses a translate table, or write a function in your language of choice to make this kind of test generic.
_________________
Dave Crayford
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I forgot to mention I was looking for an answer in COBOL, without using function.

DaveyC,
I think the correct code would be

for i = 1 to length
if ( (string[i] <= 'A' OR string[i] >= 'Z') and
(string[i] <= '0' OR string[i] >= '9')) then do
... got an error ...
end-if
end-for
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
taterhead
Beginner


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 7
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out CLASS in the SPECIAL-NAMES section. You can lay out explicitly what you're checking for.

Code:


       SPECIAL-NAMES.                                         
               CLASS ALPHA-NUM         IS                     
               'ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ0123456789'.       
...

IF MY-VAR ALPHA-NUM
   yadda yadda



Last edited by taterhead on Thu Dec 19, 2002 9:53 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12370
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dibakar,

Try this.


Code:


01  WS-ALPHA                      PIC X(01).                 
    88 VALID-ALPHA                VALUE 'A' THRU 'Z'.         
    88 VALID-NUM                  VALUE '0' THRU '9'.         
                                                             
01 W-STRING                       PIC X(04).                 
01 W-SUB                          PIC 9(01).                 
                                                             
PROCEDURE DIVISION.                                           
                                                             
     MOVE 'AB1$' TO W-STRING                                 
                                                             
     PERFORM VARYING W-SUB FROM 1 BY 1 UNTIL W-SUB > 4       
        MOVE W-STRING(W-SUB: 1)  TO WS-ALPHA                 
        IF VALID-ALPHA OR VALID-NUM                           
           DISPLAY 'THE STRING IN POSTION ' W-SUB  ' IS VALID'
        ELSE                                                 
           DISPLAY 'ERROR IN STRING AT POSITION' W-SUB       
        END-IF                                               
     END-PERFORM                                             




Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DaveyC
Moderator


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 151
Topics: 3
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, what I meant was

Code:

for i = 1 to length
  if ( string[i] < 'A' and string[i] > 'Z'  and
       string[i] < '0' and string[i] > '9' ) then do
    ... got an error ...
  end-if
end-for


which will execute quicker because it doesn't need to process sequence points...

That's a joke Wink. Thanks for your correction.
_________________
Dave Crayford
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Taterhead,

I only code in Procedure Division and Working Storage so I guess I won't be able to use SPECIAL-NAME. The solution was really cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RonB
Beginner


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 93
Topics: 0
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW,
A ( character ) test for "<'A' or >'Z'" would not fail those characters that fall between 'I' and 'J' or between 'R' and 'S'. In other words x'CA', x'CB', x'CC', x'CD', x'CE', x'CF', x'DA', x'DB', x'DC', x'DE', and x'DF' would all PASS the test. So far, the only valid solutions I've seen are the ones using SPECIAL-NAMES, and the suggestion for using an assembler translate table to do a TRT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Nickel
Beginner


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 22
Topics: 0
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I only code in Procedure Division and Working Storage


Why ?

Using special names is 90% more efficient than doing it yourself in a loop.
_________________
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only code some copybooks for script generated code. If I make any changes anywhere else then it will be temporary as next script generated code will replace it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dibakar
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Topics: 63
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I am checking only four bytes and not expecting curly brackets (I am expecting ' ', ',', '.' and attribute values which are smaller than X'40') I used multiple ifs checking >='A' and <='9' to keep it simple.

'88 levele's and 'perform varying's was not making much diff to LOCs or redability.

But I will wait to see more interesting solutions, like SPECIAL-NAMES.

Thanks all,
Dibakar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rajeev_jha
Beginner


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dibakar,

I have a module that checks for all the valid characters in the keyboard or else replaces it by spaces. This was developed as our file was transmitted from mainframe to UNIX. Any any junk character from mainframe was interpreted as newline character and the whole record got broken into two lines. so what we did was to remove all the junk characters to spaces. Hope this can be of some help. You can use this to create TAB delimited file for UNIX somewhat similar to earlier solutions

Code:

05 WS-VALID-CHARS                       PIC X(01).     
  88 C-VALID-CHAR                      VALUE         
    X'F0' X'F1' X'F2' X'F3' X'F4' X'F5' X'F6'         
    X'F9' X'60' X'7E' X'79' X'5A' X'F7' X'F8'         
    X'7C' X'7B' X'5B' X'6C' X'50' X'5C' X'4D'         
    X'5D' X'6D' X'4E' X'D8' X'E6' X'C5' X'D9'         
    X'E3' X'E8' X'E4' X'C9' X'D6' X'D7' X'4A'         
    X'6A' X'E0' X'C0' X'D0' X'4F' X'C1' X'E2'         
    X'C6' X'C7' X'C8' X'D1' X'D2' X'D3' X'5E'         
    X'6B' X'7A' X'E9' X'E7' X'C3' X'E5' X'C2'         
    X'D5' X'D4' X'6B' X'4B' X'61' X'4C' X'6E'         
    X'6F' X'98' X'A6' X'85' X'99' X'A3' X'A8'         
    X'A4' X'89' X'96' X'97' X'81' X'A2' X'84'         
    X'86' X'87' X'88' X'91' X'92' X'93' X'A9'         
    X'A7' X'83' X'A5' X'82' X'95' X'94' X'C4'         
    X'40' X'7F' X'7D'.                               


01 LS-PARM-IN.                                               
   05 LS-PARM-DESC-IN                       PIC X(1500).     
   05 LS-PARM-DESC-LENGTH                   PIC 9(05).       
   05 FILLER                                PIC X(25).       
                                                             
01 LS-PARM-OUT.                                             
   05 LS-PARM-DESC-OUT                      PIC X(1500).     
   05 FILLER                                PIC X(30).       
                                                             
                                                             
PROCEDURE DIVISION USING LS-PARM-IN, LS-PARM-OUT.           

MOVE LS-PARM-DESC-IN         TO WS-DESC-ARRAY-REC           
                                                           
PERFORM VARYING WS-DESC-INDEX FROM 1 BY 1 UNTIL             
        WS-DESC-INDEX > LS-PARM-DESC-LENGTH                 
                                                           
   MOVE WS-DESC-IN(WS-DESC-INDEX)                           
                             TO WS-VALID-CHARS             
   IF C-VALID-CHAR                                         
       DISPLAY 'VALID CHARACTER'                           
       IF WS-DESC-IN(WS-DESC-INDEX) = '"'                   
           MOVE "'"          TO WS-DESC-OUT(WS-DESC-INDEX:1)
       ELSE                                                 
           MOVE WS-DESC-IN(WS-DESC-INDEX)                   
                             TO WS-DESC-OUT(WS-DESC-INDEX:1)
       END-IF                                               
   ELSE                                                     
       DISPLAY 'INVALID CHARACTER'                         
       MOVE SPACES           TO WS-DESC-OUT(WS-DESC-INDEX:1)
       DISPLAY 'INVALID CHARACTER'                         
       MOVE SPACES           TO WS-DESC-OUT(WS-DESC-INDEX:1)
   END-IF                                                   
END-PERFORM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group