View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Phantom Data Mgmt Moderator
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 1056 Topics: 91 Location: The Blue Planet
|
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 10:42 am Post subject: Swapping Screens thro' REXX |
|
|
Question 1:
Is there any way to swap to a different screen from REXX without using ISPSTRT. In our shop, we have a max of 8 logical screens. Assume that all the 8 screens are active and my rexx routine is running in screen 3. I need to swap to screen 5 and execute another rexx program in that screen. (I know that when a swap command is executed the rexx program will lose control, But all I want is to execute/invoke a new rexx from the swapped screen).
Code: |
"ISPEXEC SELECT PGM(ISPSTRT) PARM(SWAP 5; TSO %RX5)"
|
This code will work fine if I have atleast 1 screen left. But if all the 8 screens are filled then the ISPSTRT will fail saying that there no more screens available. How can I get around this problem ?
Question 2:
When I have all 8 screens (max. allowed in our shop) active, is there any way I could close all the active screens by executing one rexx program ? Suppose I execute my rexx program from Screen 2, it should traverse thro' all active screens and close them & finally it should come out of screen 2 also & show me the logoff screen. Is this possible? (PS: If I have any edit sessions, I should come out of them without saving the changes).
Thanks,
Phantom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 9:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Phantom,
One crude way to exit all the screens withOUT saving the data is to issue the following TSO command in your rexx. This will abend all the active screens and you will be brought to READY Prompt.
Hope this helps...
Cheers
kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Phantom Data Mgmt Moderator
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 1056 Topics: 91 Location: The Blue Planet
|
Posted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 2:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot Kolusu,
Works just as I wanted it to. The only thing is that as you said it seems to be very crude. Throws up some abend messages on the screen. !!!
Could you please answer my first question (reg. swapping screens) ? Thanks a lot,
Phantom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
arnold57 Beginner
Joined: 01 Oct 2004 Posts: 30 Topics: 0
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Q1: Try this:
cmds = "SWAP 5; TSO %RX5"
address ispexec "DISPLAY PANEL(ISPBLANK) COMMAND(CMDS)" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|