View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
pzmohanty Beginner
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 97 Topics: 43 Location: hyderabad, India
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 3:38 am Post subject: how to override a DD statement of PROC thru JCL calling the |
|
|
hi ,
can anybody help me in overriding a DD statement which is in a PROC proc02 which itself is in another PROC proc01 . i want to override the dd statement in proc02 thru JOB which calls proc01.
Thanx in advance _________________ Priya Ranjan Mohanty
Consultant
Kanbay Software (I) pvt. Ltd.
Hyderabad |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 4:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
pzmohanty,
You can override the ddname in a nested proc by making the ddname a symbolic. Define a symbolic named OVDSN in PROC01. Let us say you want to override a file named 'DEFAULT.NODE.FILE' with 'OVERRIDE.NODE.FILE'
ex:
PROC01:
Code: |
//PROC01 PROC OVDSN='DEFAULT.NODE.FILE'
//*
//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=ABC
...
//STEP0600 EXEC PROC02
|
PROC02:
Code: |
//PROC02 PROC
//STEP0100 EXEC PGM=SORT
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DSN=&OVDSN,
// DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT DD DSN=PROD.PROC2.SORTOUT,
// DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=PROD,
// SPACE=(CYL,(5,5),RLSE)
...
//*
|
JCL
Code: |
//STEP0100 EXEC PROC01,OVDSN='OVERRIDE.NODE.FILE'
|
Hope this helps...
Cheers
Kolusu _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Last edited by kolusu on Thu May 20, 2004 4:41 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pzmohanty Beginner
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 97 Topics: 43 Location: hyderabad, India
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
hi thanx 4 the solution of using the symbolic parameter.
but my problem is little more intricate.
both PROC1 & PROC2 are in PRODUCTION so i cannot make any changes to them , but i had to test a program called by PROC2 which is called by PROC1.
is there any way to override the DD statement in innermost PROC. _________________ Priya Ranjan Mohanty
Consultant
Kanbay Software (I) pvt. Ltd.
Hyderabad |
|
Back to top |
|
|
superk Advanced
Joined: 19 Dec 2002 Posts: 684 Topics: 5
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2004 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Q. is there any way to override the DD statement in innermost PROC.
A. No, there is not. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|