View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nin_Ta Beginner
Joined: 02 Mar 2004 Posts: 6 Topics: 3
|
Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 9:17 am Post subject: Performance problem |
|
|
Hi All,
This is regarding a performance issue in a CICS program. What is the tradeoff between storing data in VSAM and DB2 when there are only 10 records and frequency of updating this data is zero.
Also could you please let me know on max amount of storage that can be stored in a TSQ. Will it shop specific?
Regards,
NIN |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Manas Biswal Intermediate
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 382 Topics: 27 Location: Chennai, India
|
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is the existing database for your system. If a DB2 subsystem already exists and is connected to the CICS region, then you may consider defining a new table and storing the data in it otherwise as Kolusu said, a VSAM file is the best alternative.
Regards,
Manas |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Chantrey Intermediate
Joined: 10 Sep 2003 Posts: 234 Topics: 1 Location: Wansford
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
As this data is not updated in CICS and has a very small volume, it would be an ideal candidate for a User-maintained CICS data table.
This is defined to CICS in exactly the same way as a VSAM file plus the following extra parameters: Code: |
DATATABLE PARAMETERS
TABLE ==> User No | CIcs | User | CF
Maxnumrecs ==> Nolimit Nolimit | 1-99999999 |
When the dataset is opened, CICS will load the contents of the VSAM dataset assocaited with this definition into above the line storage, then your program can access this data with normal VSAM commands, but it will be much faster. If you did need to change the data you can edit the source VSAM dataset and then close/open the file in CICS to refresh it, or the change will be picked up at the next CICS reload. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|