MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Include members for PLI Compiler

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:12 am    Post subject: Include members for PLI Compiler Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying to compile my PLI modules with the LE compiler using the step below in a proc. I am passing the SYSIN parameter in the JCL.

The error i am getting is that the include members in the PLI module are not getting expanded first so that the identifiers are not recognised. I tried passing the include member datasets using INCLLIB, INCLUDE, CLIB ... but it does not recognise it. I check the IBM sites and other documents but found the examples were small modules with the entire module in the SYSIN parameter. I used a small module with no copy members and it compiled fine, but how to compile those which have a copy member???

Code:
//PLI      EXEC PGM=IEL1AA,PARM='OBJECT,NODECK',REGION=512K         
//STEPLIB  DD  DSN=&LNGPRFX..LINKLIB,DISP=SHR    /* MACP000 */     
//         DD  DSN=&LIBPRFX..SCEERUN,DISP=SHR                       
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*                                             
//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&LOADSET,DISP=(MOD,PASS),UNIT=SYSALLDA,         
//             SPACE=(80,(250,100)),DCB=(BLKSIZE=&SYSLBLK)         
//SYSUT1   DD  DSN=&&SYSUT1,UNIT=SYSALLDA,                         
//             SPACE=(1024,(200,50),,CONTIG,ROUND),DCB=BLKSIZE=1024

_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Manoj,

Pass the copy members via //SYSLIB DD DSN=YOUR INCLUDE MEMBER PDS,DISP=SHR

Hope this helps..

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kolusu,

Failed to mention that, but had tried that too. Any other suggestions?

Pasting related JCL/Proc here.

Code:
//STEP010 EXEC PROC=IEL1CL,GOPGM=PROG1,
//             GOSET=X.Y.LOAD
//SYSIN   DD  DSN=X.Y.PLI(PROG1),DISP=SHR
//SYSLIB  DD  DSN=X.Y.PLINCL,DISP=SHR
//        DD  DSN=X.Y.PLISQL,DISP=SHR


Code:
//IEL1CL  PROC LNGPRFX='SYS1.ADPLI',LIBPRFX='SYS1',        /*MACP000*/  00010000
//             SYSLBLK=3200                                             00020000
//*                                                                     00030000
//PLI      EXEC PGM=IEL1AA,PARM='OBJECT,NODECK',REGION=512K             00300000
//STEPLIB  DD  DSN=&LNGPRFX..LINKLIB,DISP=SHR    /* MACP000 */          00310000
//         DD  DSN=&LIBPRFX..SCEERUN,DISP=SHR                           00320000
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*                                                 00330000
//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&LOADSET,DISP=(MOD,PASS),UNIT=SYSALLDA,             00340000
//             SPACE=(80,(250,100)),DCB=(BLKSIZE=&SYSLBLK)              00350000
//SYSUT1   DD  DSN=&&SYSUT1,UNIT=SYSALLDA,                              00360000
//             SPACE=(1024,(200,50),,CONTIG,ROUND),DCB=BLKSIZE=1024     00370000
//LKED     EXEC PGM=IEWL,PARM='XREF,LIST',COND=(9,LT,PLI),REGION=512K   00380000
//SYSLIB   DD  DSN=&LIBPRFX..SCEELKED,DISP=SHR                          00390000
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*                                                 00400000
//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&LOADSET,DISP=(OLD,DELETE)                          00410000
//         DD  DDNAME=SYSIN                                             00420000
//SYSLMOD  DD  DSN=&GOSET(&GOPGM),DISP=(MOD,PASS),                      00430000
//             UNIT=SYSALLDA,SPACE=(1024,(50,20,1))                     00440000
//SYSUT1   DD  DSN=&&SYSUT1,UNIT=SYSALLDA,SPACE=(1024,(200,20)),        00450000
//             DCB=BLKSIZE=1024                                         00460000
//SYSIN    DD  DUMMY                                                    00470000
//*

_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Manoj,

Did you have include pre-proccessor in your compile options?? check this link for PL/I preprocessors.

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/IBM3PG10/2.0?DT=20020918091353#HDRPREPRO

Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,

Great! That did it. Thanks a ton!!! You made my day!
_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kolusu,

When we want to include the SQL Preprocessor, what do we do? Reading from the link your gave, i tried the following but did not work.
MACRO,SQL
MACRO,PP(SQL)
PP(MACRO,SQL)
I also tried STDSQL (Read this somewhere else)

However, the compiler says "The following string is not recognised as a valid option keyword and is ignored" -- for SQL, PP and STDSQL

Any comments from the expert?
_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Manoj,
To use the PL/I SQL Preprocessor, you need to Specify the following option when you compile your program.

Code:

             PP(SQL('options'))


This compiler option indicates that you want the compiler to invoke the PL/I SQL preprocessor. Specify a list of SQL processing options in the parenthesis after the SQL keyword. The options can be separated by a comma or by a space.

ex:
Code:

 PP(SQL('DATE(USA),TIME(USA)')


tells the preprocessor to use the USA format for both DATE and TIME data types.

Btw my shop does not have PL/I and I am not an expert in PL/I. It is just that I could read the manuals in depth.

The previous link I provided ALSO explains about SQL preprocessor. Here is the link which explains about SQL preprocessor. In this link read the section 2.3.1 Programming and compilation considerations carefully

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/IBM3PG10/2.3?SHELF=&DT=20020918091353

Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kolusu,

The Problem thats occuring is that the compiler just doesnt recognise the Parameter PP. This is the message i get.

IEL0003I THE FOLLOWING STRING IS NOT RECOGNIZED AS A VALID OPTION KEYWORD AND IS IGNORED -- PP

and this is the Parm i have used.
PARM='MACRO,PP(SQL(''DATE(USA),TIME(USA)'')),OBJECT,NODECK',

Thus whatever options I put in within SQL('XXXXX') doesnt work as PP itself is ignored by the compiler.
_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An aftertought, I am using the LE370 PLI Compiler 5688-235 V1R1M1. Is it possible that this compiler does not have this option Question and i would have to have a separate precompile step? Confused
_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Manoj,

Try this
Code:

   PARM='PP(MACRO,SQL(''DATE(USA),TIME(USA)'')),OBJECT,NODECK',


Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
manojagrawal
Beginner


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 124
Topics: 29

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kolusu,

Still cant recognise the parameter PP. Confused
_________________
Thanks & Regards,
Manoj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group