View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 629 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:28 am Post subject: Customizing File-Aid (IMS) |
|
|
This question is for File-Aid IMS, but is probably equally relevant for any other variations.
When we use FA, our IMS databases can be called either 'SIMMIC.DIALDBDT.DBS10' (my private one) or 'SDST.DIALDBDA.DBS10' (lowest test level) or 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS10' (highest test level).
The panel that allows me to select the databases looks like this
Code: |
XIXDSNS1 OWSE ---- Data Base Dataset Specif
COMMAND ===>
Obtain DB Dataset Names from ===> P (P = Pr
I = IM
DBRC not active
DBD DDNAME DATASET NAME
-------- -------- ---------------------------
DBS10 DBS10 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS10'
DBS100 DBS100 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS100'
DBS101 DBS101 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS101'
DBS102 DBS102 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS102'
DBS103 DBS103 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS103'
DBS104 DBS104 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS104'
DBS105 DBS105 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS105'
|
As you can imagine, it's a bit of a hassle changing the leading SDST to SIMMIC or the reverse.
I suddenly thought that if I knew where the variables for the screen above are picked up from, I could have some sort of a front-end to FA such that I could start it with something like FAIMS SIMMIC.*.DBS10 or FAIMS SDST.DIALDBDA.DBS10 or similar and the relevent fields would all be filled in with the values I wanted from the start.
Trouble is, I can't seem to find where these variables are stored so as to change them (I've scoured the FA libraries and it seems that for this screen, XIXDSNS1, the variables seem to be called IXTDYN and IXTSHDW, but I can ONLY find references to these in some FA load library)
Does anyone have an idea? _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
misi01,
I don't have file-aid to help you on that. However you can do it outside file-aid and have it ready when you invoke it. I do this for IPCS
1. Go to 3.4 and bring up the listing
This will bring up all your dataset names matching that criteria
2. Type the ALLOC command on to the left of the dsn name (you can overtype on dsn name)
Code: |
ALLOC F(ddname) DA(/) SHR
** ddname = your ddname you want the file to be allocated. In your case it is DBS10 for the first one
|
So the command for you is
Code: |
ALLOC F(DBS10) DA(/) SHR
|
This will allocate SIMMIC.DIALDBDT.DBS10 to DBS10 ddname and now if you invoke the File-aid panel you should have this dataset listed for DBS10 ddname.
You can repeat the same procedure for the other datasets _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 629 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the suggestion .... which didn't seem to work unfortunately.
When I start FA, one database I have contains a data cluster and an index cluster called 'simmic.dialdbdt.dat22' and 'simmic.dialdbdt.dat220' (fewer entries to faff around with).
What I did was to follow your ALLOC suggestion for the DAT22 entry (but on the 3.4 panel I specified SDST.*.dat22 (for our test databases).
I then performed the ALLOC command against SDST.DIALDBDA.DAT22 only thinking that logically (?) when I started FA, the DAT22 entry would show SDST etc and the DAT220 entry would show SIMMIC (since I hadn't reallocated that entry).
Unfortunately, both entries pointed at SIMMIC.
I'm guessing that FA keeps the prefix for each database "hidden" somewhere, question is .... where? _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|