MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Capture screen input when pressing PFkey

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
misi01
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Topics: 176
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:10 am    Post subject: Capture screen input when pressing PFkey Reply with quote

This is one of those weird questions similar to "how do you spell psychology".
Well, look in a dictionary under sy..... or sigh.... and you're never going to find it.

I have a macro that allows me to place the cursor on a variable in my cobol code, press a PFkey (PF14) and it'll either highlight the first definition of the variable in working-storage or edit the relevant copybook and show the variable there (assuming variable naming standards are reasonably "standard").

My problem is as follows. Assume I have a variable called w-sign in W-S.
If I insert a row into my source code, enter the word w-sign, place the cursor on this variable and immediately press PF14, it can't find the variable.

If instead, I insert a row, enter the word w-sign, press enter and THEN press PF14, it finds it.

I appreciate/assume that in the first example, somehow or other, the PF14 key is run BEFORE ISPF has read the screen, but how do I cause ISPF to simulate an enter key having been pressed before it starts running the rest of the macro (I don't want to issue a SAVE if that's a suggestion because the user should always have the option to cancel if they want to).

I'll continue searching in the meantime, but going back to the psychology question in the first paragraph - how do you search for something if you don't know WHAT to search for?
_________________
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would search for 'ENTER'. I have a vague feeling that it is an option on the CONTROL statement.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misi01
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 629
Topics: 176
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Nic, but aren't you presupposing that the macro is being run from an ISPF panel (it's not).

I tried adding
Code:

Address ISPEXEC 'CONTROL DISPLAY ENTER'

at the start of my script, but simply received rc 20
_________________
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

misi01,

If you are inserting the line outside the macro then you do need to press ENTER. if you are doing within the rexx exec with LINE_AFTER then you shouldn't have to press ENTER
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group