MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

multiple step cond code check with 'AND' condition

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tcurrier
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 188
Topics: 68

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:33 am    Post subject: multiple step cond code check with 'AND' condition Reply with quote

I understand that this cond code check for the return codes from 2 different steps is treated as an 'OR' condition, i.e. if STEP1.RC = 5 or
STEP2.RC = 9, then do not execute STEP3...

I can't seem to find how to code the cond parm as an 'AND' condition,
i.e. if STEP1.RC = 5 AND STEP2.RC = 9

Code:
//STEP3 EXEC PGM=IEFBR14,
//         COND=((5,EQ,STEP1),(9,EQ,STEP2))


Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use IF/THEN/ELSE condition code checking or change the operator (EQ) in the second check.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcurrier
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 188
Topics: 68

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand the IF/THEN/ELSE option, but I'm not sure what you mean by 'changing the EQ operator' in the second check....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mean change the (9.EQ,STEP2) so that it will reflect what you want.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcurrier
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 188
Topics: 68

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what I want is to keep the 2 parameters the same :
(same condition codes, same step referbacks)

(5,EQ,STEP1),(9,EQ,STEP2)

but have the 2 checks treated as 'AND' conditions, not 'OR' conditions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group