MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to move high-values in CSP or Visual Age?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:14 pm    Post subject: How to move high-values in CSP or Visual Age? Reply with quote

How do I move high-values to a variable in CSP or Visual-Age?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12375
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

prog_mario,


Move X'FF' to field name? High-values are only valid for character strings.

Kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not working. Is there any other way to do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12375
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

prog_mario wrote:
It's not working. Is there any other way to do that?


What do you mean it is NOT working? Error message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact I'm working with Visual Age and when I try to validate the function I get a message of "Instruction text invalid".
_________________
The more I learn, the more I want to learn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12375
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

prog_mario wrote:
In fact I'm working with Visual Age and when I try to validate the function I get a message of "Instruction text invalid".


You need to do a better job of explaining what you are doing.

1. How is the variable defined? is it alphanumeric , or numeric?
2. Show us the piece of code where you moving the high-values
3. What is the exact error message with with message ID?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what programming language? cobol/java/c ?
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK.
1. variable is defined as CHAR(5) Nonshared.

2. the code is:
Code:

MOVE ' ' TO PEN34W01.FLAG;

IF PEN34M01.EMPRESA EQ 0;
  MOVE 000 TO PENA024.CD-EMPRE-024;
ELSE;
  MOVE PEN34M01.EMPRESA TO PENA024.CD-EMPRE-024;
END;

IF PEN34M01.PRODUTO EQ " ";
  MOVE X'FF' TO PENA024.CD-PROD-024;
ELSE;
  MOVE PEN34M01.PRODUTO TO PENA024.CD-PROD-024;
END;

IF PEN34M01.SUBSEG EQ 0;
  MOVE 000 TO PENA024.CD-SUBSEG-024;
ELSE;
  MOVE PEN34M01.SUBSEG TO PENA024.CD-SUBSEG-024;
END;

IF PEN34M01.INTER EQ 0;
  MOVE 000000 TO PENA024.CD-LOJA-024;
ELSE;
  MOVE PEN34M01.INTER TO PENA024.CD-LOJA-024;
END;

IF PEN34M01.DT_INICIO = 0;
  MOVE 00000000 TO PENA024.DT-INI-VALID-024;
ELSE;
  MOVE PEN34M01.DT_INICIO TO PEN34W01.DATA10-08;
  MOVE PEN34W01.DATA10-8 TO PENA024.DT-INI-VALID-024;
END;

3. The error message code is: Hpt.PL.6.e - The instructions's text on column 6 is invalid.
Note that this is a translation because my VisualAge is in Brazilian Portuguese.

Hope this can help you help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how about without the translation?

we still don't know what

PENA024.CD-PROD-024
or
PEN34M01.PRODUTO

looks like.
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure that X'FF'
is the notation necessary to define a 1 char hexidecimal literal?
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have coded languages where 'FF'X was the proper notation.
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PEN34M01 is my screen name and PRODUTO is a field from this screen.
PENA024 is my record layout and CD-PROD-024 is a field from this layout.
So if PRODUTO is equal spaces what means the user didn't type anything for it, I want to move high-values to my record layout field which is CD-PROD-024.
CD-PROD-024 is a CHAR of 5 bytes.
About the translation, I just putted the error message into English.
_________________
The more I learn, the more I want to learn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way I've tried X'FF' and 'FF'X and both leads me to the same error message.
_________________
The more I learn, the more I want to learn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12375
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

prog_mario,

Try moving the entire 5 bytes X'FFFFFFFFFF' or FFFFFFFFFF'X whichever is the correct syntax.

Kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
prog_mario
Beginner


Joined: 08 Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Topics: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not working either.
_________________
The more I learn, the more I want to learn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group