View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
moyeenkhan Beginner
Joined: 04 Dec 2002 Posts: 64 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:29 am Post subject: Finding the PDS name |
|
|
When you are in Edit/Browse/View mode of a PDS, ISPF displays a list of members of the PDS. If I issue a Rexx command on the command line during such a display of members, can I get the PDS name in the Rexx.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
moyeenkhan Beginner
Joined: 04 Dec 2002 Posts: 64 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think I was not clear in my requirements. Issue 3.4 and we get a list of datasets. I type 'M' against a library. I am in member list. On the command line I want to execute a Rexx program that searches this list (just like SRCHFOR command). I need to get the library name. How can I get it?
Thanks Kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Anuj Dhawan Intermediate
Joined: 19 Jul 2007 Posts: 298 Topics: 7 Location: Mumbai,India
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
moyeenkhan wrote: | I need to get the library name. How can I get it? | This is confusing, you'd get a member name...what does library name signify here? _________________ Regards,
Anuj |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Terry_Heinze Supermod
Joined: 31 May 2004 Posts: 391 Topics: 4 Location: Richfield, MN, USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm also confused; the name of the library of the member list you're looking at is at the top of the panel, isn't it? _________________ ....Terry |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You want to pick up the current PDS name within the REXX you call from the command line? _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
moyeenkhan Beginner
Joined: 04 Dec 2002 Posts: 64 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dennis:
Yes. That is what I need. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
semigeezer Supermod
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 1014 Topics: 13 Location: Atlantis
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
moyeenkhan Beginner
Joined: 04 Dec 2002 Posts: 64 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Many thanks. This is what I was looking for. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Anuj Dhawan Intermediate
Joined: 19 Jul 2007 Posts: 298 Topics: 7 Location: Mumbai,India
|
Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Glad to hear you got it working. I believe it would be beneficial for others if you post the skeleton of the code you used (if it does not get too much site specific). _________________ Regards,
Anuj
Last edited by Anuj Dhawan on Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:53 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stefan Beginner
Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Posts: 41 Topics: 2 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | 'ispexec vget zscreeni'
say word(zscreeni,wordpos('DSLIST',zscreeni)+1) |
_________________ Stefan
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
semigeezer Supermod
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 1014 Topics: 13 Location: Atlantis
|
Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You might want to do this a little differently because if the user has PANELID, SYSNAME, or a few other things turned on, I think the word DSLIST won't be there. _________________ New members are encouraged to read the How To Ask Questions The Smart Way FAQ at http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stefan Beginner
Joined: 20 Nov 2003 Posts: 41 Topics: 2 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
semigeezer wrote: | You might want to do this a little differently because if the user has PANELID, SYSNAME, or a few other things turned on, I think the word DSLIST won't be there. |
As far as I can see, PANELID or SYSNAME overlay the visible screen but DO NOT change the contents of variable zscreeni. So this variable still contains the string "DSLIST" followed by the dataset name. _________________ Stefan
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|