MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can I trap a job code and submit next job depending on that.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
to_agrawals
Beginner


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 26
Topics: 16

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:05 am    Post subject: Can I trap a job code and submit next job depending on that. Reply with quote

Hi Team,
There is JOB1 whose return code should be 00 for the next job to be run. This is all coded in an RPF code (ROSCOE Programming Facility)
Can u please suggest me some way to achieve this...??

Thanks
Saurabh
New Delhi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
raj051076
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 21

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can do it using the COND parameter. Do a QW on COND and you will find the answer
_________________
Rajib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12375
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2002 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to_agrawals,

There are 2 ways of doing.

1.COND Parameter

2.IF/THEN/ELSE/ENDIF Statement Construct

Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tidda
Beginner


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Topics: 6
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2002 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think both the above ways assist us in conditionally executing steps within a single job. I understand that to_agrawals wants to trigger job2 if job1 ends with return code 00 in the last step ... you might try something like this

Code:
//STEP200 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER,COND=(0,LT,STEP190)
//SYSIN    DD DUMMY
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1   DD DSN=TIDDA.JCLS(JOB2),DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2   DD SYSOUT=(X,INTRDR)


or embedding the above step in a IF clause (at end of JOB1) to check the return code (remove the COND in that case) ... I don't know if it a different story for rpf code.

tidda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxn00
Beginner


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Topics: 0
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2002 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to_agrawals:

If your shop has a scheduling package, it can take care of this.

Something like CA7 or ZEKE.

The Operations staff at your shop will know what is available.
_________________
Natalie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group