MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

create panels using REXX
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1 - save that as a member in your panel library (usually has a 3rd level of ISPPLIB)
2 - make sure this is allocated to your session on ddname ISPPLIB
3 - go to option 7.2 and specify the panel name (i.e. the member name you saved the panel as)

Once debugged, create an exec similar to this:

/* rexx */
Address ISPEXEC 'display panel(mypanel)'
Exit

This rexx exec does nothing but invoke ISPF display service to display your panel.

BTW - your panel is very complex for a first time panel. You should start with the basics and add bits and pieces as you get the problems sorted out.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1 - save that as a member in your panel library (usually has a 3rd level of ISPPLIB)
2 - make sure this is allocated to your session on ddname ISPPLIB
3 - go to option 7.2 and specify the panel name (i.e. the member name you saved the panel as)

I am not getting these can you please explain more clearly.
Sorry to bother your precious time

Regds,
Kingo
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1 - a panel is a member of a PDS (library)
2 - This library must be allocated to DDNAME ISPPLIB if you wish to use it. ISPPLIB is the ddname that all panel libraries that you may use are allocated to in your TSO/ISPF session. If you do not have a library allocate dthat you can use you will have to play with LIBDEF to temporarily allocate it
3 - 7.2 is used to syntax check your panel
4 - just as well that I am waiting for a dataset recall!
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I created a dataset where my code is present.Should i compile this code?
Because I checked in 7.2 option it was not present.

Regds,
Kingo
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
acevedo
Beginner


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 127
Topics: 0
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The dataset containing your panel must be asign to ISPPLIB, try ISRDDN to check it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is what I am asking how should i assign to ISPPLIB and where should i use this ISRDDN
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

use option 7.6 to temporarily allocate your panel lib as follows:

Code:
libdef ispplib dataset id(your.panel.library.name)


ISRDDN is entered at the tso prompt (option 6)
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did these things
but when i go to option 6 and type ISRDDN and when i try to scroll down I am getting this message

Warning: ISRDDN has detected that one or more concatenations, including DD
name SYSHELP contain mixed record formats, organizations, or fixed record
lengths. Reading from allocations containing different types of data sets
can cause I/O errors, ABENDs, or other unpredictable results. For further
information, see the z/OS documentation on using data sets. Enter CHECK OFF
to disable this check.

Whats that ?
And once I entered ISRDDN is that ready to execute?

Regds,
Kingo
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ISRDDN only lists the datasets allocated to your TSO session (you can browse and edit them from there and probably much more but I only use it to see what is allocated)

The temporary allocation done by LIBDEF may not last once you come out of option 7 and may not be available to other screens in your session so after your LIBDEF go straignt to option 2 within option 7 and enter your panel name. IE do this:
1-From main ISPF menu select option 7
2-from the opt 7 menu select option 6
3-do your libdef
4-go to option 2 (pf3 back to the option 7 menu and select option 2)
5-enter your panel name
6-if all has gone well your panel should appear
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i execute this is the error message which I
Panel 'ISPPLIB' error
A panel section is out of order or has already been defined.



Regds,
Kingo
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am afraid you will have to debug it yourself. If you are using the panel code you showed above then I am getting a completely different error.

Is your panel really called ISPPLIB? Not a good choice - you could get confused between the PDS member name ISPPLIB and the DDname ISPPLIB
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

******************************************************************************
 * ISPP130                                                                    *
 *                                                                            *
 * Panel 'ISPPLIB' error                                                      *
 * A panel section is out of order or has already been defined.               *
 *                                                                            *
 *                                                                            *
 *                                                                            *
 *                                                                            *
 *                                                                            *
 *                                                                            *
 * Panel line where error was detected:                                       *
 * )ATTR                                                                      *
 *                                                                            *
 * Enter HELP command for further information regarding this error.           *
 * Press ENTER key to terminate the dialog.                                   *
 *                                                                            *
 *          Override termination and attempt to continue?  (/ = Yes)          *
 *                                                                            *
 *                                                                            *
 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

Is the error message.

Regds,
Kingo
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone tell me what is this kind of panel creation
Can we create a panel even this way?
Code:

 <!DOCTYPE DM SYSTEM>

 <VARCLASS NAME=selcls TYPE='CHAR 2'>
 <VARLIST>
   <VARDCL NAME=loc  VARCLASS=selcls>
   <VARDCL NAME=mode VARCLASS=selcls>
 </VARLIST>

 <PANEL NAME=panel HELP=trvlhlp KEYLIST=keylxmp
   DEPTH=22 WIDTH=60>Dream Vacation Guide
 <AB>
   <ABC>File
     <PDC>Add Entry
         <ACTION RUN=add>
     <PDC>Delete Entry
         <ACTION RUN=delete>
     <PDC>Update Entry
         <ACTION RUN=update>
     <PDC>Exit
         <ACTION RUN=exit>
   <ABC>Help
     <PDC>Extended Help...
         <ACTION RUN=exhelp>
     <PDC>Keys Help...
         <ACTION RUN=keyshelp>
 </AB>
 <TOPINST>Choose one of the following exotic locations and
 your preferred mode of travel, then press Enter.
 <AREA>
   <REGION DIR=horiz>
   <SELFLD NAME=loc PMTWIDTH=23 SELWIDTH=25>Exotic Location:
     <CHOICE>Athens, GA
     <CHOICE>Berlin, CT
     <CHOICE>Cairo, IL
      <CHOICE>Lizard Lick, NC
      <CHOICE>Paris, TX
      <CHOICE>Rome, NY
      <CHOICE>Venice, FL
    </SELFLD>
    <DIVIDER>
    <SELFLD NAME=mode PMTWIDTH=25 SELWIDTH=25>Travel Mode:
      <CHOICE>Boxcar
      <CHOICE>Hitchhike
      <CHOICE>Mule
    </SELFLD>
    </REGION>
  </AREA>
  <CMDAREA>
  </PANEL>


  <HELP NAME=trvlhlp>Sample help panel "trvlhelp"
  <AREA>
 <INFO WIDTH=48>
 <P>This is help panel "trvlhlp"
 </INFO>
 </AREA>
 </HELP>

_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yup - that is the dialog test error panel ok. tells you why it thinks it has an error and even which line is in error. of course, if you have 2 )ATTR lines it doesn't tell you which but as you can only have one and it is usually, but not always, the first line in the panel definition, it should be fairly easy to find.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingo
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 167
Topics: 40
Location: chennai

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

)PANEL
/* PANEL 1 CREATED */
)BODY WINDOW(50,5)
+ PANEL1 +
+ THIS IS THE TEST PANEL
+
+ GOOD BYE ...
)END


The rexx for this is
/*REXX*/
"ISPEXEC LIBDEF ISPPLIB DATASET ID('')"
"ISPEXEC ADDPOP"
"ISPEXEC DISPLAY PANEL(ISPPLIB)"
IF RC\=0 THEN DO
SAY 'COMMAND CANCELLED'
EXIT
END
ELSE
SAY 'YOUR NAME IS' URNAME
EXIT

Though its not mine.But very simple
But when I run this I am getting this error why?
Code:

 ISPP130                                                                 
                                                                         
 Panel 'PANEL1' error                                                     
 A panel section is out of order or has already been defined.             
                                                                         
                                                                         
                                                                         
                                                                         
                                                                         
                                                                         
 Panel line where error was detected:                                     
 )BODY WINDOW(50,5)                                                       
                                                                         
 Enter HELP command for further information regarding this error.         
 Press ENTER key to terminate the dialog.                                 



Whats the problem?
U have any idea

Regards,
Kingo
_________________
IF YOU ARE NOT FOCUSSED ON GOAL ALL YOU SEE IS OBSTACLE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group