MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Stacking the fields one by one

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
somuk
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 113
Topics: 37

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 9:15 am    Post subject: Stacking the fields one by one Reply with quote

Hi,
I have an input file in the following format.

Code:

misc1  line-1     line-2  line-3   line-4  line-5  line-6  line-7  line-8  line-9
1111   It's 1      It's 2   It's 3   It's 4 It's 5  It's 6 It's 7  It's 8  It's 9
3333   It's 1      It's 2   It's 3   It's 4 It's 5  It's 6 It's 7  It's 8  It's 9



I would like to reformat this as follows.
Code:

misc1      All-lines
1111        It's 1
            It's 2
            It's 3
            It's 4
            It's 5
            It's 6
            It's 7
            It's 8
            It's 9

Is this possible using any utilities.


Here is my file details.

Code:


File LRECL- 986 . Below the field position and length.(position,length)

Misc1            1,362
line-1                   363,100
line-2                   464,100
line-3                   565,100
line-4                   666,100
line-5                   767,100
line-6                   868,30
line-7                   899,30
line-8                  930,15
line-9                  946,40

_________________
Regds,
Somu


Last edited by somuk on Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somu,


where is MISC2 (2222) coming from ? Is it a hard coded value?


Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
somuk
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 113
Topics: 37

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Kolusu. It was a typo. I corrected the original message.
_________________
Regds,
Somu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somu,

The following JCL will give you desired results. As I busy packing , I really did not test it. Here is something which will give you the desired results. It will copy the first 362 bytes as is from input file and in 363 pos you will have the line info

Code:

//STEP0100  EXEC PGM=SORT                                     
//SYSOUT    DD SYSOUT=*                                       
//SORTIN    DD DSN=YOUR INPUT FILE,
//             DISP=SHR                     
//SORTOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                       
//SYSIN     DD *                                             
 SORT FIELDS=COPY                                             
 OUTFIL REMOVECC,                                             
 HEADER1=(001:C'MISC1',                                       
          363:C'ALL-LINES'),                                 
 OUTREC=(1,362,363,100,/,                                     
         362X,464,100,/,                                     
         362X,565,100,/,                                     
         362X,666,100,/,                                     
         362X,767,100,/,                                     
         362X,868,30,/,                                       
         362X,899,30,/,                                       
         362X,930,15,/,                                       
         362X,946,40)   
/*


Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Frank Yaeger
Sort Forum Moderator
Sort Forum Moderator


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 1618
Topics: 31
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somu,

Here's another way to do it with DFSORT. I assumed you really didn't want the header fields:

Code:

//S1   EXEC  PGM=ICEMAN
//SYSOUT    DD  SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DSN=...  input file
//SORTOUT  DD DSN=...  output file
//SYSIN    DD    *
  OPTION COPY
  OUTFIL OUTREC=(1,362,363:363,100,/,363:464,100,/,363:565,100,/,
   363:666,100,/,363:767,100,/,363:868,30,/,363:899,30,/,
   363:930,15,/,363:946,40)
/*

_________________
Frank Yaeger - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
Specialties: JOINKEYS, FINDREP, WHEN=GROUP, ICETOOL, Symbols, Migration
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
somuk
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 113
Topics: 37

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kolusu and Frank. It did the trick..!!!
_________________
Regds,
Somu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group