MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to preallocate tapes ??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
patnekar
Beginner


Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Topics: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:31 pm    Post subject: How to preallocate tapes ?? Reply with quote

Hi,
I need information on how to pre-allocate tapes in a JCL and also the other factors that I should be consider while doing this??

Thanks
Puru
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12369
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patnekar,

The following Jcl will pre-allocate a tape.

Code:

//STEP0100  EXEC  PGM=IEBGENER                     
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                             
//SYSUT1   DD  DUMMY,                             
//             DCB=(LRECL=80,RECFM=FB,BLKSIZE=0)   
//SYSUT2   DD  DSN=YOUR TAPE OUTPUT DSN,               
//             DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),           
//             UNIT=TAPE,                         
//             VOL=(,RETAIN,,10),                 
//             DCB=(LRECL=80,RECFM=FB,BLKSIZE=0)   
//SYSIN     DD DUMMY   


Can you clarify as to why you want to pre-allocate a tape dataset?

Thanks,

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,
Why not IEFBR14 with DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE)?
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bithead
Advanced


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 550
Topics: 23
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think that IEFBR14 sets a valid EOF marker which may, or may not, be a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, EOF marker. I never quite understood that. Sad
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12369
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cogito,

IEFBR14 does not open the dataset for write and a tape dataset cannot be cataloged without opening the dataset. Try to run a sample and see what happens.

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Cogito-Ergo-Sum
Advanced


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 637
Topics: 43
Location: Bengaluru, INDIA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,
No dataset was allocated! Perhaps, I jumped again! Thanks for the information.
_________________
ALL opinions are welcome.

Debugging tip:
When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
-- Sherlock Holmes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patnekar
Beginner


Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Topics: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,
The need to pre-allocate tapes was felt, as we happened to lose some data, when our tapes were over-written by some other jobs. Thus we felt that if we happen to pre-allocate tapes for our files, we can do away with this over-writting stuff.
Is there any other way of preventing this?? If yes, please let me know.

Thanks
Puru
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
warp5
Intermediate


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 429
Topics: 18
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are your jobs over-writing tapes? It sounds like you do not have a tape management system or something is very wrong. Tell us the complete story how these over-writes are taking place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
patnekar
Beginner


Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Topics: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Warp5,
Sorry but we are still investigating it. In any case I doubt whether I'll be able to post the real reason here, apart from the technical stuff, if any.

Thanks
Puru
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Kautilya
Beginner


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Topics: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use UNIT=(TAPE,2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slade
Intermediate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Topics: 1
Location: Edison, NJ USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Puru,

An alternative to pre-allocation may be to use RETPD or EXPDT. These should protect your tapes, provided your "adversaries" don't use BLP when creating theirs.

One drawback though is that using a long period can tie up the tapes and keep other legitamate users from them.

Regards, Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoobink
Beginner


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Topics: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CES Wrote "No dataset was allocated! Perhaps, I jumped again! Thanks for the information."

This happens because IEFBR14 doesn't request an OPEN on the dataset. IEFBR14 is so named because all that it does is BRanch to register 14.

IEBGENER works because a valid OPEN and CLOSE is performed, even though no records are written.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group