View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sharss Beginner
Joined: 27 Aug 2016 Posts: 11 Topics: 4
|
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 12:13 am Post subject: Adding new index on db2 and cobol recompilation |
|
|
Adding new index on db2 and cobol recompilation
Hi Team,
I am planning to modify the DB2 table by adding a new index on two existing coloumns.Do i need to recompile and bind all the cobol programs?
Regards,
Sharan S S |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sharss,
You don't have to recompile your programs. However if you recompile they will be able to access the new paths based on the new indexes and your program performance will be improved. _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
haatvedt Beginner
Joined: 14 Nov 2003 Posts: 66 Topics: 0 Location: St Cloud, Minnesota USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu / Sharss,
there is no need to recompile your programs to take advantage of a new index on a DB2 table.
To accomplish this you just need to do DB2 BIND's on the packages which use that table. DB2's optimizer will then determine which access path to use. You will want to make sure that you have updated DB2's stats on the new index and on the table if you don't have stats on those two columns. This will give the DB2 optimizer more information which will allow it to make better decisions on what is the best access path to use. _________________ Chuck Haatvedt
email --> clastnameatcharterdotnet
(replace lastname, at, dot with appropriate
characters) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|