View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jim Oates Beginner
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 9 Topics: 3
|
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:27 am Post subject: How can archived datasets be elminated from the report? |
|
|
We are replacing DMS with DF/DSS to COMPRESS and RELEASE partitioned data sets that have greater than 80% free space.
Archived datasets are reported for both NOTUSED%(GT 80) and NOTUSED%(LE 80) even though they are mutually exclusive parms. Rather than assuming unreported freespace is zero the dataset is always reported. In both cases the the following information is reported.
Code: |
ALLOCSP ALLOCUS ALLOCNU CMPFMT CREATEDT MULTV?
221K ------- --- --- 2009/07/01 NO
|
Is there a way to avoid reporting the dataset using ACBJBAOB, in either savelist (ACBQBAI2) or genrep (ACBQBAR1)? If not a SORT will replace the IEBGENER after each genrep step in order to eliminate archived datasets.
Bonus round. Anyway to reduce the number of steps to perform the following? savelist only allows one HLQ. DMS, which is being replaced, allowed multiple HLQ so now, the single job step is being replaced with 28 job steps.
Code: |
Repeat the following 5 steps for each HLQ (we have 5 HLQs to process)
savelist
savelist error check (abend if repgen failed)
repgen
repgen error check (abend if repgen failed)
copy (preserves the dataset before it is cleared by the next savelist)
PROGRAM (creates datasets needed for the actual work)
COMPRESS
RELEASE |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jim Oates,
I suggest you
1. Get the list of all the datasets in a single step for all the 5 HLQ's using IDCAMS Listcat or ADRDSSU
2. Read the above input and build the control cards for COPY/COMPRESS/RELEASE using a utility.
Kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jim Oates Beginner
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 9 Topics: 3
|
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for responding! Based on your response I am assuming this is a bug and there is no way for ADRDSSU to eliminate archived datasets from the report. What you describe is exactly what I am doing.
Non-archived datasets behave properly. Archived datasets are added to the report regardless of which of the following parameters are used.
NOTUSED%(GT 80)
NOTUSED%(LE 79)
EG. if Dataset XXXXXXX (1% used) and YYYYYYY (100% used) are archived
they will apear on both reports where any numeric value (such as NOTUSED%) is used to select datasets.
What I am doing now is really silly. A sort step has been added to the job to eliminate the archived datasets.
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jim Oates Beginner
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 9 Topics: 3
|
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have a definitive response from IBM.
There is no way to eliminate archived (migrated) datasets. It must be done after the report is generated and before creating the control cards. That is what is being done but I was hoping there was a better way.
The other option is to use DCOLLECT.
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
expat Intermediate
Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 475 Topics: 9 Location: Welsh Wales
|
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jim,
I don't know if it will be of any use to you, but I posted some code for my own little utility called CSIUTIL.
Do a search for CSIUTIL and might be of some use, hopefully. _________________ If it's true that we are here to help others,
then what exactly are the others here for ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jim Oates Beginner
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 9 Topics: 3
|
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks. CSIUTIL looks very interesting and helpful. I will certainly take a look. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12376 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|