View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bauer Intermediate
Joined: 10 Oct 2003 Posts: 315 Topics: 49 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2011 3:41 pm Post subject: Write PS or PO file (non VSAM file) in CICS program |
|
|
Hi,
i have a datasetname given (and membername if PO dataset) and i like to write to this file from a cics program. The file (dateset) is not in the CICS jcl included, the filename (dataset) changes each time the cics application program is called. It's a non vsam file, just PO or PS file. I like to use EXEC CICS commands, programming language is PL/1.
How to resolve this request?
CREATE TDQUEUE
WRITE TQ QUEUE ?????
In MVS environment I use the assembler macro DYNALLOC to create a DD from the DSNAME, but this seems to be impossible in combination with cics.
Any hint pls for me?
regards,
bauer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2011 4:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bauer,
You can define an Extrapartition transient data queue (TDQ) to create the flat file directly. Define the TDQ with a four-byte queue name and a corresponding eight-character DD name and add it to CICS JCL.
However remember that EPTDQ are of low performance and you need to close TDQ or stop CICS to be able to see all the records.
Alternatively you can use EXCI application which returns the records to a application which creates the sequential file.
Kolusu
PS: This is from my decade old CICS experience so don't hold it against me if it doesn't work. _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bauer Intermediate
Joined: 10 Oct 2003 Posts: 315 Topics: 49 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2011 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
Thank you for your quick replay. Well, i will try to create a TDQ with Exec cics command. Adding to the jcl is not possible, because the file Name (dataset name) is always different. In the CICS systemprogramming guide i saw a dsname parameter in combination with the Exec cics create TDQ, hopefully this works.
Bauer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bauer Intermediate
Joined: 10 Oct 2003 Posts: 315 Topics: 49 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Mon May 16, 2011 8:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Just for information:
CREATE TDQUEUE
WRITE TQ QUEUE
works, but only with sequential datasets, not with partitoned data sets. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|