View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
raj051076 Beginner
Joined: 05 Dec 2002 Posts: 64 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2002 10:03 pm Post subject: How does IMS access DB2 |
|
|
I have heard and also seen that IMS can access DB2 and fetch data from DB2 tables but am not sure how this is done. Can anyone throw some light. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Raj,
An IMS program can access DB2 when the external subsystem (DB2 in this case) is defined to the region. This can be probably found in the IMS.PROCLIB with a member name starting with the IMSID followed by the value of the SSM parameter for the message region.The plan name should be the same as the program name unless it is defined otherwise in the Resource Translation Table.
Use the /DISPLAY SUBSYS command to display the status of the subsystem. And in SYS1.PROCLIB dataset you have to update the member IMSDCCTL under the EXTERNAL statement as mentioned below.
Code: |
//******** EXTERNAL SUBSYSTEM STATEMENTS *************
//*
//* INCLUDE THE DFSESL DD STATEMENT IF AN EXTERNAL
//* SUBSYSTEM CONNECTION TO DB2 IS DESIRED.
//*
//DFSESL DD DSN=IMS.PROCLIB(IMS1SSM),
// DISP=SHR
//*
|
Hope this helps...
cheers
kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
raj051076 Beginner
Joined: 05 Dec 2002 Posts: 64 Topics: 21
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2002 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Kolusu _________________ Rajib |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coolman Intermediate
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 283 Topics: 27 Location: US
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
What is the SSM parameter and how do you find it out.
Cheers,
Coolman.
________
buy scale
Last edited by coolman on Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:30 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12375 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 6:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Coolman,
SSM stands for Subsystem Member.You can find this value by looking in the dataset which is attached to the DD statement DFSESL.
Code: |
//DFSESL DD DSN=IMS.PROCLIB(IMS1SSM),
// DISP=SHR
//*
|
Hope this helps...
cheers
kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coolman Intermediate
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 283 Topics: 27 Location: US
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 8:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kolusu,
In case the member "IMS1SSM" is not present in IMS.PROCLIB, can we say that DB2 is not defined to the region. Here IMS1 is the IMS id.
cheers,
coolman
________
Ford Sapphire
Last edited by coolman on Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:30 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bithead Advanced
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 550 Topics: 23 Location: Michigan, USA
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In the online region, issue /DIS SUBSYS ALL to find which DB2 system is connected. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|