MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Newbie Qn in QMF

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sakreg
Beginner


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 80
Topics: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 4:15 am    Post subject: Newbie Qn in QMF Reply with quote

I simply want to run a series of SQL using QMF. What I know is this can be achieved using PROC. I am able to run the query when running from QUERY panel (PF6 from QMF), the same, when I try to run from PROC panel, (PF10) they are not getting executed

Say, I am trying to run the following query using PROC panel

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM DBZ1.TABLE1;

What I get is,
SELECT is not a command

Anything in particular I need to take care while building the query to be used inside a PROC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sakreg,

The idea of proc is to run multiple named queries but not queries within a proc.you need to save all your queries differently and then put the names of the queries
and run them

ex:

Code:

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM TABLE1


now save this query as Q1

next query

Code:

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM TABLE2


save this query as Q2

Now create a proc to save

Code:


RUN QUERY Q1
RUN QUERY Q2


Btw you can do it only in batch mode. The interactive mode will only give you the results of the last query execueted.

Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sakreg
Beginner


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 80
Topics: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks kolusu, you gave me a lead to start with QMF Proc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yadav2005
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 348
Topics: 144

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,

I am new to writing and executing a QMF proc , can you show an example and I do not know how to write / execute in QMF panel . I have a requirement where in I have a PDS member which contains sql statements . I want to do two things
a) replace the existing proc with the new member contents
b) execute the proc contents

Please help me in this regard.Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yadav2005
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 348
Topics: 144

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,

Can you show me a batch jcl to execute the QMF proc as per your contents i understand that only the last saved named query in the proc gets executed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yadav2005
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 348
Topics: 144

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Further if I would like to see the existing PROCs already created in QMF how can i see that ?.

I want to create a new one only if the name does not exist earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yadav2005 wrote:
Kolusu,

I am new to writing and executing a QMF proc , can you show an example and I do not know how to write / execute in QMF panel .


Assuming you have access to QMF

1. Get to QMF
2. At the bottom of the screen you would see the function keys maping
3. Press PF6 for queries
4. You get an edit panel. Type in your query
5. Again see the bottom for the function key mapping
6. Press PF2 for running the query you just wrote.

Quote:

I have a requirement where in I have a PDS member which contains sql statements . I want to do two things
a) replace the existing proc with the new member contents
b) execute the proc contents

Please help me in this regard.Thanks.


1. On the QMF main panel at the bottom TYPE

LIST ALL.

This will show all your queries and procs that you are the owner of

once you get the pop up list press PF1 and read thru the various commands you can use against the list shown

Suggest you start reading this manual

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/DSQRF080/CCONTENTS?

For bringing in your contents from a pds , read the command IMPORT which is explained in the manual in detail


yadav2005 wrote:
Can you show me a batch jcl to execute the QMF proc as per your contents i understand that only the last saved named query in the proc gets executed.


http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/DSQI2071/2.12.4?

yadav2005 wrote:
Further if I would like to see the existing PROCs already created in QMF how can i see that ?.

I want to create a new one only if the name does not exist earlier.


Use the command LIST PROCS and it will list all your procs associated with your ID as owner.

Last but not least read the manual and everything is explained in detail there

Kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
yadav2005
Intermediate


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 348
Topics: 144

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kolusu,

You information is excellent. I was able to clearly follow your instructions and I am able to work with QMF procs .I have started practising them and concepts are clear.

Thanks once again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jim haire
Beginner


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 140
Topics: 40

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a way you can run the Proc interactively and see the results between queries using the INTERACT command.

Example below:
Code:
"RUN QUERY WEEKLY_SALES_Q (FORM=WEEKLY_SALES_F"
 "INTERACT"
 "RUN QUERY YEAR_TOTAL_Q (FORM=YEAR_TOTAL_F"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Database All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group