View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nakapako Beginner
Joined: 21 Nov 2004 Posts: 8 Topics: 7
|
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:19 pm Post subject: Checking Last Access to dataset |
|
|
Hi All,
Need assistance with RACF. How do I check what userid had last updated a dataset?
thanks for your assistance.
danteb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
We use SMF data to see who had a dataset OPEN for OUTPUT or UPDATE. Processing SMF data can be difficult due to formats used (variable length sections with OFFSET, LEN flags). _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
expat Intermediate
Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 475 Topics: 9 Location: Welsh Wales
|
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, SMF is the only way to do this.
Fortunately the type 15 records are fairly easy to disect.
If you have SAS available here's the code to get you what you want
Code: |
IF RECTYPE = 15 THEN DO;
INPUT @003 SMFTIME ?? SMFSTAMP.
@011 SYSTEMID $4.
@015 JOBNAME $8.
@053 DDNAME $8.
@065 DATASET $44.;
|
_________________ If it's true that we are here to help others,
then what exactly are the others here for ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shash_modi Beginner
Joined: 22 Apr 2008 Posts: 26 Topics: 9 Location: Mumbai
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Could you please tell us how the JCL will look like if want to see who has updated the dataset say 'NUSOM12.ADDACS.CODE" last time? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
acevedo Beginner
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 127 Topics: 0 Location: Europe
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
IMHO, not a good idea believe JCL is the panacea for all our problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Nic Clouston Advanced
Joined: 01 Feb 2007 Posts: 1075 Topics: 7 Location: At Home
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
I guess the JCL would be the same as for the previous requirement - just need to change the dataset names to match your own shop. Your SAS code will change as you will be searching for a different dataset name from the OP. _________________ Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|