MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Static Linking

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Other Technical Topics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
uthaman
Beginner


Joined: 09 Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Topics: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Static Linking Reply with quote

I have a question about statically linked programs. Here is the setup:

A100 --calls--> B100 --calls--> S100
--calls--> B200 --calls--> C100 --calls--> S100

All of the calls in this chain are static calls. If I make a change to S100 do I only need to recompile A100 inorder to update all the links? Or, do I need to recompile B100, B200 and C100?

If the latter is true... If I only recompile B100, then is B200-C100 call still pointing at an older version of S100??? That doesn't seem right...

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
semigeezer
Supermod


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 1014
Topics: 13
Location: Atlantis

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If these are separate programs, you need only recompile S100 and relink A100. At least that is true in the general case. COBOL seems to have its own terminology about those things and I don't use COBOL but in general, each external program is independent of the others. The only reason you would need to recompile the others is if (1) you change the parameters that must be passed to the module, or (2) the change involves a copybook that is shared by the other modules.

Think about what the compiler does for, say, B100. It generates code that calls S100, but unless the way it calls S100 changes or something in B100 actually changes, there should be no reason to recompile B100. To B100, S100 is a 'black box'. B100 neither knows nor cares what the compiled code for S100 does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not found a way to do a 'link only' under Changeman (maybe the way it is setup in our shop?) so we have to re-stage (compile & link) the MAIN module just to do the link. But otherwise it is as semigeezer says.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Other Technical Topics All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group