MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

syncsort - SORTOUT not compatible with LRECL

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
navhin
Beginner


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Topics: 7
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:35 am    Post subject: syncsort - SORTOUT not compatible with LRECL Reply with quote

hi

in the step syncsort, i got an abend as below.

Code:
STEP01  ,        -SORTOUT  HAS INCOMPATIBLE LRECL                     
STEP01  ,        -CONVERT FEATURE CANNOT BE USED WITH OVERLAY OR IFTHEN
STEP01 - ABEND=S000 U0016 REASON=00000000                               


but the LRECL of both the sortin and sortout are the same (1500). still this abend happens.
can there be any other reason ?
_________________
navhin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vkphani
Intermediate


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 483
Topics: 48

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pls post your JCL over here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
expat
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 475
Topics: 9
Location: Welsh Wales

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And please only post your problem once !
_________________
If it's true that we are here to help others,
then what exactly are the others here for ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
navhin
Beginner


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Topics: 7
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

//STEP01 EXEC PGM=SYNCSORT
SORTIN   DD DSN=*****.********.********(0),DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT  DD DSN=******.********.*****.******(+1),               
//            DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),SPACE=(CYL,(5,5),RLSE),     
//            DCB=(SYS2.GDG,DSORG=PS,RECFM=FB,LRECL=1500,BLKSIZE=0)
//SYSIN *         
 SORT FIELDS=COPY
OUTFIL OUTREC=(1:1,6,                               
               8:13,45,                             
               55:821,40)                           


i have excluded the other sortlib, sortwrk statements
both input and output files are FB and LRECL 1500.

the input file's properties are

Code:

Organization  . . . : PS   
Record format . . . : FB   
Record length . . . : 1500
Block size  . . . . : 27000
1st extent cylinders: 150 
Secondary cylinders : 15   

_________________
navhin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

navhin,

you are only writting 91(6+45+40) bytes of data to the sortout file, but you coded an lrecl of 1500 on the output file. That is the reason for your error.

Do you want a 91 byte file or a 1500 byte file ? If you want a 91 byte file, just remove the DCB parameter line in your JCL and sort will automatically calculate the values for you.

If you want 1500 byte file then use the following control card. It will have spaces from byte 92 to 1500.

Code:

//SYSIN *         
 SORT FIELDS=COPY
 OUTFIL OUTREC=(0001:001,06,
                0008:013,45,
                0055:821,40,
                1500:X)


Hope this helps...

Cheers

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
navhin
Beginner


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Topics: 7
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kolusu,

i tried both . but still the error occurs.

if i removed the "outfil outrec " step, the job runs fine
_________________
navhin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

navhin wrote:
kolusu,

i tried both . but still the error occurs.

if i removed the "outfil outrec " step, the job runs fine


You should NOT get the error even if you use the OUTFIL. Show us your error sysout from the sort step.

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
navhin
Beginner


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Topics: 7
Location: india

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:01 am    Post subject: Re: syncsort - SORTOUT not compatible with LRECL Reply with quote

kolusu,
its the same as i gave in the first post.


navhin wrote:

Code:
STEP01  ,        -SORTOUT  HAS INCOMPATIBLE LRECL                     
STEP01  ,        -CONVERT FEATURE CANNOT BE USED WITH OVERLAY OR IFTHEN
STEP01 - ABEND=S000 U0016 REASON=00000000                               



_________________
navhin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12376
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

kolusu,
its the same as i gave in the first post.


navhin,

That is NOT sysout of the step. Sysout message of syncsort step start with WERnnna . Please post the step sysout messages and not the jessysmsg's

Kolusu
_________________
Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
amargulies
Beginner


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 123
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

navhin,

You may have your sort messages turned off or not going to sysout. Please make sure you have a SYSOUT DD allocated and then pass the following JCL to the sort step:
Code:

//$ORTPARM DD *
MSG=AP,LIST

This should produce the output previously requested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
navhin
Beginner


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Topics: 7
Location: india

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kolusu,alyssa,

the job runs fine today without including "1500:X" and also with it.
pretty wierd it wasnt working last week.
_________________
navhin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group