View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ReinerZ Beginner
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 Posts: 11 Topics: 4 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:21 pm Post subject: Problem with SNAP-Macro... |
|
|
Hi all,
I'm in the process of learning to program the MVS-Environment.
Yesterday I have had some problems in a program
and tried to resolve them with the help of a SNAP-Dump.
After reading the documentation of the SNAP-Macroinstruction,
I have written a piece of code (according to the documentation)
as follows.
(My intention was to dump the storage acquired by the
3 Character-Constants labelled RZS01, RZS02 and RZS03).
Code: |
*
DUMPIT OPEN (SNAPDCB,(OUTPUT))
SNAP DCB=SNAPDCB,PDATA=REGS, C
LIST=DMPLIST
CLOSE (SNAPDCB)
B PGMEXIT
*
DS 0D
DMPLIST EQU *
DMPBEG DC A(RZS01)
DC X'80'
DMPEND DC AL3(RZS03+L'RZS03)
*
DS 0D
RZS01 DC C'RZS07K0 - This is message number 1.'
RZS02 DC C'RZS07K0 - This is message number 2.'
RZS03 DC C'RZS07K0 - This is message number 3.'
*
SNAPDCB DCB DSORG=PS,MACRF=W,RECFM=VBA, C
BLKSIZE=1632,LRECL=125,DDNAME=SNAPDUMP
|
The result of excuting the code above was a storage-dump, but NOT the
areas I want to dump!
Did I something wrong?
Any help is appreciated...
Thank you
Reiner
PS: The above code is running under TSO/E via the CALL-Command.
z/OS-Version is V1.R5. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Copied your code and ran as batch asm/lked/go and it worked OK! _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ReinerZ Beginner
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 Posts: 11 Topics: 4 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bill,
I have copied the code from my origin program to a "fresh" one (with only that code), and it worked too!
Dont know what to do!
best regards
Reiner |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Upon second glance, it's very likely that the alignment of the EQU and the first DC A didn't jibe. The DC A(RZS01) would have aligned to a fullword while the EQU may have been a byte or two ahead. Better coding would be: Code: | DMPLIST DS 0F
DMPBEG DC A(RZS01)
| to ensure the label is also fullword aligned. _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
danm Intermediate
Joined: 29 Jun 2004 Posts: 170 Topics: 73
|
Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
I had used SNAP successfully in other programs. When I added SNAP to an existing program:
Code: |
OPEN (SNAP,OUTPUT)
SNAP DCB=SNAP,PDATA=(PSW,REGS)
......
.......
SNAP DCB DSORG=PS,MACRF=W,RECFM=VBA, +
BLKSIZE=1632,LRECL=125,DDNAME=SNAP
|
It failed to assemble:
Code: |
9209 OPEN (SNAP,OUTPUT)
00008E 0700 9210+ CNOP 0,4
000090 4510 8098 00098 9211+ BAL 1,*+8
000094 8F 9212+ DC AL1(143)
000095 000000 9213+ DC AL3(SNAP)
** ASMA032E Relocatable value found when absolute value required - SNAP
|
What should I do to resolve the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hard to tell without the full listing. Maybe too many uses of 'SNAP' confused the assembler. Try changing the DCB name to something else. _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
danm Intermediate
Joined: 29 Jun 2004 Posts: 170 Topics: 73
|
Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bill,
I changed DCB name from SNAP to LOGREG and comment out "SNAP DCB=LOGREG,PDATA=(PSW,REGS)" (so I won't be calling SNAP at all), same error message. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bill Dennis Advanced
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 579 Topics: 1 Location: Iowa, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And you changed to OPEN macro to point to LOGREG? _________________ Regards,
Bill Dennis
Disclaimer: My comments on this foorum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|