MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Problem in copying GDG

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ranjit5311
Beginner


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 27
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:58 am    Post subject: Problem in copying GDG Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have allocated the base GDG in the following way:
Code:
"DEFINE GDG(NAME('"SA_FILE_NAME_BASE_GDG_NEW"') ,   
OWNER('KUMARRA'),LIMIT("GEN_LIMIT") SCRATCH NOEMPTY)"


and then copying the GDG generations in following way

Code:
DO I_LOOP_COPY =  1 TO I_GDG_VERSION_COUNT       
     NEW_CURR_GEN = SA_FILE_NAME_BASE_GDG_NEW||"."||,     
                         GEN_ARRAY.I_LOOP_COPY           
     CURR_GEN = SA_FILE_NAME_BASE_GDG_OLD||"."||,         
                         GEN_ARRAY.I_LOOP_COPY           
     SAY "GEN_ARRAY."I_LOOP_COPY GEN_ARRAY.I_LOOP_COPY   
     ADDRESS "TSO"                                       
     "ALLOC DSN('"NEW_CURR_GEN"') NEW",                   
     "LIKE('"CURR_GEN"')"                                 
     "REPRO INDATASET('"CURR_GEN"') ",                   
     "OUTDATASET('"NEW_CURR_GEN"')"                       
END

WHERE GEN_ARRAY.1 = G0001V00....SO ON...


The code executing successfully.
But the new GDG have active generation as 0.
I have observed that the version of new GDG created start from +1,+2,+3 so on...instead of 0,-1,-2........
If i see the new GDG the next day. The vertion becomes 0,-1,-2....
What could be reason for these things?
Please help me out.
I
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phantom
Data Mgmt Moderator
Data Mgmt Moderator


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 1056
Topics: 91
Location: The Blue Planet

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ranjit,

Similar question was already answered - few days back. The problem could be because
1. You would have seen the generations even before the REXX completed execution.
2. You used only NEW while creating the versions. Try with "NEW CATLG" so that it gets catalogued immediately.

Thanks,
Phantom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranjit5311
Beginner


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 27
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Phantom,
Quote:

1. You would have seen the generations even before the REXX completed execution.


I have executed the program and seen the genertion.It is still the same thing

Quote:

2. You used only NEW while creating the versions. Try with "NEW CATLG" so that it gets catalogued immediately.


Made the change but the result is same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranjit5311
Beginner


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 27
Topics: 14

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Phantom,
When i am have run the REXX program through batch. Its giving the correct version.
Thanks,
Ranjit
_________________
One should move lightly through the life, carrying no excess baggage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group